Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when YSWY files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NASDAQ: YSWY Yesway, Inc. 8-K

Yesway completes $322M IPO, issues 47M shares in Class A common stock capital structure (full multi-class details, if any, are in the charter exhibit / prospectus — not disclosed in this filing body) with tax obligations

Filed April 27, 2026 · Period ending April 21, 2026 · ~2 min read

5 key changes 3 high relevance 7 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Yesway raised $322 million by selling 16.1 million Class A shares at $20/share (including full underwriter overallotment), while issuing 47 million additional shares to existing owners in blocker mergers and reorganization transactions.

    Item 8.01, Item 3.02 verify on EDGAR →
  • high

    Company entered Tax Receivable Agreement obligating future cash payments to pre-IPO owners based on tax benefits realized, which can represent significant ongoing cash obligations reducing funds available for operations.

  • high

    Authorized capital expanded to 500M Class A shares, 150M Class B shares, and 10M preferred shares, providing substantial capacity for future dilution through financing, acquisitions, or equity compensation.

  • medium

    Stockholders Agreement with Brookwood Parties grants special governance rights to significant investor group, while Registration Rights Agreement allows certain holders to force future secondary offerings that may increase share supply.

  • medium

    Five new directors elected to board effective April 21, 2026, establishing audit, compensation, and nominating/governance committees as part of public company governance structure.

Summary

Yesway completed its initial public offering on April 21-27, 2026, raising $322 million through the sale of 16.1 million Class A common shares at $20 per share.

The IPO involved a complex reorganization creating a Class A common stock capital structure (full multi-class details, if any, are in the charter exhibit / prospectus — not disclosed in this filing body): the company issued 15.1 million Class A shares to blocker merger shareholders and 32 million Class B shares to continuing equity owners for nominal consideration.

This Up-C structure, where Yesway sits atop BW Ultimate Parent LLC, is designed to provide tax benefits to pre-IPO owners. Retail investors should understand three key implications. First, the Tax Receivable Agreement creates future cash payment obligations to pre-IPO owners when the company realizes tax benefits—these payments can be substantial and reduce cash available for growth or dividends. Second, the Class A common stock capital structure (full multi-class details, if any, are in the charter exhibit / prospectus — not disclosed in this filing body) and Brookwood stockholders agreement concentrate control with insiders despite public ownership. Third, with 500 million Class A shares authorized but only about 31 million issued in the IPO, significant dilution capacity exists. Watch for the first quarterly earnings report as a newly public company, which will reveal how IPO proceeds are deployed and provide initial visibility into the company's convenience store operations and growth strategy. Also monitor any SEC filings related to registration rights exercises, which would signal insider selling.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement

~400 words

Yesway completed its IPO and entered into four material agreements including a Tax Receivable Agreement and amended LLC agreement.

5 Added
Added IPO completion and material agreements high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

In connection with the initial public offering (the “Offering”) by Yesway, Inc. (the “Company”) of its Class A common stock, par value $0.0001 (the “Class A Common Stock”), described in the prospectus (the “Prospectus”), dated April 21, 2026, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), which is deemed to be part of the Registration Statement on Form S-1 (File No. 333-294679) (as amended, the “Registration Statement”), the Company entered into the following agreements

Yesway completed its initial public offering of Class A common stock on April 21, 2026. In connection with the IPO, the company entered into four material definitive agreements that govern post-IPO corporate structure, tax arrangements, stockholder rights, and registration rights. These agreements became effective upon closing of the offering.

Added Tax Receivable Agreement high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

a Tax Receivable Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among the Company, BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, the TRA Parties (as defined therein), the Brookwood Nominee (as defined therein), and each of the other Persons (as defined therein) from time to time party thereto

The company entered into a Tax Receivable Agreement with BW Ultimate Parent, LLC and other parties. This agreement typically obligates the company to make payments to pre-IPO owners based on tax benefits the company realizes from certain tax attributes, which can represent a significant future cash obligation.

Added Fourth Amended LLC Agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

a Fourth Amended and Restated Limited Liability Company Agreement of BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, dated April 21, 2026, by and among BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, the Company and the other Members (as defined therein)

The company and BW Ultimate Parent, LLC entered into a fourth amended and restated LLC agreement. This suggests an Up-C structure where the public company sits above an LLC, with the company now a member alongside existing owners. This structure is common in IPOs where pre-IPO owners retain LLC interests.

Added Stockholders Agreement with Brookwood medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

a Stockholders Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among the Company and the Brookwood Parties (as defined therein)

The company entered into a Stockholders Agreement with the Brookwood Parties, likely providing certain governance rights, board representation, or other special rights to this significant stockholder group. Such agreements can affect corporate governance and decision-making post-IPO.

Added Registration Rights Agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

a Registration Rights Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among the Company and each other Person identified on the Schedule of Holders (as defined therein) attached thereto

The company granted registration rights to certain holders, allowing them to require the company to register their shares for public sale under specified conditions. This could lead to future secondary offerings that may dilute existing shareholders or increase share supply in the market.

Event · Item 3.02 — Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities

~100 words

Item 3.02 — Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities filed; see Key Changes for terms.

3 Added
Added Unregistered equity issuance high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On April 21, 2026, the Company issued (i) to the Blocker Shareholders (as defined in the Prospectus), 15,085,561 shares of Class A Common Stock of the Company, and (ii) to the Continuing Equity Owners (as defined in the Prospectus), 32,009,185 shares of Class B common stock, par value $0.0001 per share (the “Class B Common Stock”), as contemplated by the Transactions described in the Prospectus.

Yesway issued approximately 15.1 million Class A shares to Blocker Shareholders as consideration for blocker mergers, and 32.0 million Class B shares to Continuing Equity Owners for nominal consideration equal to par value. These issuances were part of transactions described in a prospectus and were unregistered securities offerings.

Added Class A share consideration high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The shares of Class A Common Stock issued to the Blocker Shareholders were issued as consideration for the Blocker Mergers (as defined in the Prospectus).

The 15.1 million Class A shares were issued as merger consideration in blocker merger transactions, representing a significant equity-based acquisition structure.

Added Class B share nominal consideration medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The shares of Class B Common Stock were issued for aggregate nominal consideration equal to the par value of such shares.

The 32.0 million Class B shares were issued for only nominal consideration equal to their $0.0001 par value, totaling approximately $3,201 in aggregate consideration, indicating these were likely issued as part of a reorganization or equity structure arrangement.

Event · Item 3.03 — Material Modification to Rights of Security Holders

~19 words

8-K filing incomplete or truncated; Item 3.03 material modification to security holder rights disclosed but details not provided.

1 Added
Added Material modification to rights of security holders high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Item 3.03Material Modifications to Rights of Security Holders. The information set forth under

The company filed an 8-K under Item 3.03, which indicates a material modification to the rights of security holders occurred on or around April 21, 2026. However, the filing text appears incomplete or truncated, as it references information 'set forth under' another section without providing the actual details of the modification. This prevents assessment of the specific changes to shareholder rights.

Event · Item 5.03 — Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws

~12 words

8-K references Item 5.03 (director/officer changes) in Item 3.03 (material modification to shareholder rights), suggesting governance changes.

1 Added
Added Cross-reference to director/officer changes affecting shareholder rights medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Item 5.03 below is incorporated by reference in this Item 3.03.

The filing discloses that information about changes in directors or executive officers (Item 5.03) is being incorporated into Item 3.03, which covers material modifications to the rights of security holders. This cross-reference structure suggests that leadership changes may have implications for shareholder rights, though the specific details are not provided in the excerpt.

Event · Item 5.02 — Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Compensation

~400 words

Item 5.02 — Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Compensation filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Board of Directors election medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Effective April 21, 2026, Thomas W. Brown, Shauna J. Clark, Ronald C. Lewis, Greg M. Papazian and Jill A. Soltau (collectively, the “Elected Directors”) were elected to the board of directors of the Company.

Five new directors were elected to the board effective April 21, 2026. The directors were assigned to various committees: Ms. Soltau, Mr. Lewis and Ms. Clark to the audit committee; Mr. Brown, Mr. Lewis and Mr. Papazian to the nominating and corporate governance committee; and Ms. Clark, Mr. Papazian and Ms. Soltau to the compensation committee.

Show 1 minor / wording change
Added Director compensation low

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Ms. Clark, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Papazian and Ms. Soltau will participate in the Company’s non-employee director compensation program as described under the “Non-Employee Director Compensation Policy” section in the Prospectus.

Four of the five newly elected directors will participate in the company's standard non-employee director compensation program. Each director also entered into an indemnification agreement with the company dated April 21, 2026.

Event · Item 8.01 — Other Events

~100 words

Item 8.01 — Other Events filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Equity offering completion high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On April 23, 2026, the Company completed the Offering of 14,000,000 shares of its Class A Common Stock at a price to the public of $20.00 per share, pursuant to the Prospectus. The gross proceeds to the Company from the sale of such shares in the Offering were $280,000,000, before deducting underwriting discounts and commissions.

Yesway sold 14 million Class A common shares to the public at $20 per share, raising $280 million in gross proceeds before underwriting fees. This represents a significant capital raise that will increase the company's cash position and dilute existing shareholders.

Added Underwriter option exercise high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The underwriters exercised the Option in full on April 24, 2026, and the sale of the 2,100,000 shares of Class A Common Stock to the underwriters closed on April 27, 2026. The gross proceeds to the Company from the sale of such shares pursuant to the Option were $42,000,000, before deducting underwriting discounts and commissions.

The underwriters exercised their full overallotment option to purchase an additional 2.1 million shares at the same $20 price, generating another $42 million in gross proceeds. This brings total gross proceeds to $322 million and indicates strong demand for the offering.

Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits

~300 words

Yesway executed corporate restructuring agreements including amended charter documents, tax receivable agreement, and stockholders agreement.

5 Added
Added Amended corporate charter and bylaws high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation of Yesway, Inc.

The company filed amended and restated versions of its certificate of incorporation and bylaws. These fundamental governance documents define shareholder rights, board structure, and corporate powers. Changes to these documents typically accompany significant corporate events like mergers, recapitalizations, or ownership restructurings.

Added Tax Receivable Agreement high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Tax Receivable Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among Yesway, Inc., BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, the TRA Parties, the Brookwood Nominee, and each of the other Persons from time to time party thereto.

Yesway entered into a Tax Receivable Agreement with BW Ultimate Parent, LLC and other parties. TRAs typically obligate a company to share tax benefits (such as step-ups in asset basis) with pre-transaction owners, creating future cash payment obligations that can be substantial and reduce cash available for operations or other uses.

Added Fourth Amended LLC Agreement high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Fourth Amended and Restated Limited Liability Company Agreement of BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, dated April 21, 2026, by and among BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, Yesway, Inc. and the other Members.

The company amended the operating agreement of BW Ultimate Parent, LLC, with Yesway and other members as parties. This suggests an umbrella partnership C-corporation (Up-C) or similar structure where Yesway holds an interest in an LLC alongside other investors. Portions are redacted and schedules omitted, limiting visibility into economic terms and governance rights.

Added Stockholders Agreement with Brookwood high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Stockholders Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among Yesway, Inc. and the Brookwood Parties.

Yesway entered into a stockholders agreement with the Brookwood Parties, likely granting them governance rights, board representation, transfer restrictions, or other protections. Portions are redacted, so the full scope of Brookwood's influence and any veto rights or liquidity provisions are not publicly visible.

Added Registration Rights Agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Registration Rights Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among Yesway, Inc. and each other Person identified on the Schedule of Holders attached thereto.

The company granted registration rights to certain holders, allowing them to require Yesway to register their shares for public sale. This can lead to future dilution or selling pressure when holders exercise these rights, though the specific holders and share counts are not disclosed in the 8-K body.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 3, 2026 · How we verify