Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when UNB files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NASDAQ: UNB UNION BANKSHARES INC 8-K

Union Bankshares reports Q2 2026 net income of $2.9M ($0.61/share), up 21% YoY

Filed July 15, 2026 · Period ending July 15, 2026 · ~1 min read

5 key changes 2 high relevance 2 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Q2 2026 net income rose to $2.9M ($0.61/share) from $2.4M ($0.53/share) in Q2 2025, a 21% increase; first-half 2026 net income reached $5.9M ($1.26/share) vs $4.9M ($1.08/share) prior year.

  • high

    Book value per share increased 16.7% to $18.28 from $15.66 year-over-year, driven by equity sales under the May 2025 ATM program (384,066 shares sold, $8.6M net proceeds) and improved securities valuations.

    Exhibit 99.1 view on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Board declared regular quarterly dividend of $0.36/share, payable August 6, 2026 to shareholders of record July 27, 2026.

  • medium

    Total assets grew 5.3% to $1.56B from $1.48B year-over-year; investment securities portfolio increased 27.0% to $308.0M reflecting Q4 2025 strategic pre-investment of future cash flows.

    Exhibit 99.1 view on EDGAR →
  • low

    Company recognized one-time gain of $380K from sale of a branch property in Q2 2026.

    Exhibit 99.1 view on EDGAR →

Summary

Union Bankshares reported solid second-quarter 2026 results, with net income rising 21% year-over-year to $2.9 million, or $0.61 per share, driven by growth in net interest income and noninterest income. For the first half of 2026, net income reached $5.9 million ($1.26/share), up from $4.9 million ($1.08/share) in the prior-year period.

The company's balance sheet expanded 5.3% to $1.56 billion, with a notable 27% increase in the investment securities portfolio to $308 million, reflecting a strategic decision in late 2025 to pre-invest future portfolio cash flows.

Book value per share grew 16.7% to $18.28, supported by $8.6 million in net proceeds from 384,066 shares sold under the equity distribution agreement announced in May 2025, as well as improved fair value adjustments on investment securities. The Board maintained its regular quarterly dividend at $0.36 per share, payable in early August. The quarter included a modest one-time gain of $380,000 from a branch property sale. For retail holders, the combination of earnings growth, book value expansion, and sustained dividend payments reflects steady operational progress and capital deployment at this community bank.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 2.02 — Results of Operations and Financial Condition

~100 words

Union Bankshares announced Q2 2026 earnings and declared a regular quarterly cash dividend.

2 Added
Added Q2 2026 earnings announcement high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On July 15, 2026, Union Bankshares, Inc. issued a press release, a copy of which is furnished with this Form 8-K as Exhibit 99.1, announcing net income and net income per share for the second quarter and six months ended June 30, 2026

Union Bankshares disclosed its financial results for the second quarter and first half of 2026. The 8-K references a press release (Exhibit 99.1) containing the specific net income and earnings per share figures, but those numbers are not stated in the body of this filing.

Added Quarterly dividend declaration medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

announcing net income and net income per share for the second quarter and six months ended June 30, 2026, as well as the declaration of a regular quarterly cash dividend

The company declared a regular quarterly cash dividend. The specific dividend amount, record date, and payment date are not disclosed in the body of this 8-K but would be in the referenced press release.

Event · Exhibit 99.1

Union Bankshares reported Q2 2026 net income of $2.9M ($0.61/share) vs $2.4M ($0.53/share) in Q2 2025 and declared a $0.36 quarterly dividend.

2 Added
Added Balance sheet growth medium

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

Total assets reached $1.56 billion as of June 30, 2026 from $1.48 billion as of June 30, 2025 representing growth of $78.4 million, or 5.3%. The increase was driven by an increases in the securities and loan portfolios. Investment securities increased to $308.0 million as of June 30, 2026 compared to $242.4 million as of June 30, 2025, an increase of $65.6 million, or 27.0%, due to a strategic decision to pre-invest future cash flows from the portfolio during the fourth quarter of 2025.

Total assets grew 5.3% to $1.56 billion as of June 30, 2026 from $1.48 billion a year earlier. Investment securities increased 27.0% to $308.0 million from $242.4 million, reflecting a strategic decision in Q4 2025 to pre-invest future portfolio cash flows. Total loans grew modestly by $14.0 million to $1.12 billion.

Added Book value increase high

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

Stockholders' equity increased to $90.4 million as of June 30, 2026 compared to $71.3 million as of June 30, 2025, resulting in an increase in book value per share of 16.7% to $18.28 as of June 30, 2026 compared to $15.66 as of June 30, 2025. These increases are due in part to sales of common stock in accordance with the equity distribution agreement previously announced on May 20, 2025. Through June 30, 2026, 384,066 shares of the Company's stock have been sold resulting in net proceeds, after expenses, of $8.6 million.

Book value per share increased 16.7% to $18.28 as of June 30, 2026 from $15.66 a year earlier, driven by stockholders' equity growth to $90.4 million from $71.3 million. The increase reflects sales of 384,066 shares under an equity distribution agreement announced May 20, 2025, generating net proceeds of $8.6 million, as well as improvement in accumulated other comprehensive loss related to investment securities fair value adjustments.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jul 20, 2026 · How we verify