Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when SVC files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsService Properties Trust raises $500M in dilutive equity offering to redeem 2027 debt
Filed April 2, 2026 · Period ending March 30, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
SVC is issuing 417 million common shares at $1.20/share for $500M gross proceeds, representing massive dilution to existing shareholders. Proceeds will redeem $470M of senior notes due 2027, swapping near-term debt for equity.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR → -
high
RMR (SVC's manager) and affiliates are purchasing 172M shares—over 40% of the offering—at the public price. RMR alone is buying 42M shares, signaling confidence but raising related-party questions.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR → -
high
SVC increased authorized shares from 200M to 900M (a 4.5x jump) to accommodate the offering. This creates capacity for future dilution beyond the current issuance.
Item 5.03 verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Board granted ownership limit exemptions to RMR and others, allowing them to exceed the 5% bylaw cap (up to 9.8%). The 5% limit exists to preserve tax benefits from net operating losses.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Underwriters have a 30-day option to buy 62.5M additional shares (15% greenshoe). If exercised, total dilution reaches 480M shares and proceeds hit $575M for further debt reduction.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR →
Summary
Service Properties Trust is executing a dramatic balance sheet restructuring, issuing 417 million common shares—potentially doubling its share count—at $1.20 per share to raise $500 million. The company will use these proceeds to retire $470 million of senior notes maturing in 2027, effectively swapping near-term debt obligations for permanent equity dilution.
To enable this massive issuance, SVC quadrupled its authorized share count from 200 million to 900 million just days before the offering. The deal's structure raises eyebrows: RMR, the company's external manager, and its affiliates are purchasing over 40% of the offering (172 million shares).
While this insider participation could signal confidence in SVC's recovery prospects, it also concentrates ownership with related parties and required the Board to waive ownership limits designed to protect tax assets. The $1.20 share price represents a significant discount to any recent trading levels, suggesting the company faced limited financing alternatives. Retail investors should watch whether the underwriters exercise their 62.5 million share greenshoe option within 30 days—full exercise would push total dilution near 480 million shares. More importantly, monitor SVC's post-offering leverage metrics and whether eliminating 2027 maturities buys enough runway to stabilize operations, or if this is merely the first of multiple dilutive capital raises.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On March 31, 2026, we entered into an underwriting agreement, or the Underwriting Agreement, with Yorkville Securities, LLC, as representative of the underwriters named therein, with respect to an underwritten public offering of 416,666,667 of our common shares of beneficial interest, $.01 par value per share, or common shares, at a public offering price of $1.20 per share. We expect to issue and deliver these common shares on or about April 2, 2026, for aggregate gross proceeds of $500,000,000.
Service Properties Trust is conducting a large equity offering of approximately 417 million common shares at $1.20 per share, raising $500 million in gross proceeds. The company plans to use the net proceeds to redeem $100 million of its 4.95% Senior Notes due 2027 and $370 million of its 5.50% Senior Notes due 2027. This represents significant dilution to existing shareholders but reduces near-term debt obligations.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
We also granted the underwriters an option to purchase up to an additional 62,500,000 common shares from us, at the public offering price, less the underwriting discount, within 30 days from the date of the Underwriting Agreement.
The underwriters have a 30-day option to purchase up to 62.5 million additional shares (15% of the base offering). If exercised in full, the additional proceeds would be used to redeem more of the 5.50% Senior Notes due 2027. This is a standard over-allotment provision that could increase total proceeds to $575 million.
Show 1 minor / wording change
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Underwriting Agreement also requires each of our officers and directors and RMR to enter into a “lock-up” agreement that generally prohibits, without Yorkville Securities, LLC’s prior written consent and subject to certain exceptions, the sale, transfer, or other disposition of common shares for a period of 90 days after March 31, 2026, the date of the Underwriting Agreement. Furthermore, the Company agreed under the Underwriting Agreement not to, directly or indirectly, offer, pledge, sell, contract to sell, sell any option or contract to purchase, purchase any option or contract to sell, grant any option, right or warrant to purchase, or otherwise dispose of or transfer any of our common shares or any securities convertible into or exercisable or exchangeable for our common shares for a period of 90 days after March 31, 2026.
All officers, directors, RMR, and the company itself are subject to 90-day lock-up agreements preventing the sale or transfer of common shares without underwriter consent. This standard provision provides near-term price stability by preventing immediate selling pressure from insiders and the company following the offering.
Event · Item 5.03 — Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws
Item 5.03 — Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On March 30, 2026, we filed Articles of Amendment to our Amended and Restated Declaration of Trust, as amended, with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation to increase the number of our authorized common shares from 200 million to 900 million, effective as of such date.
The company increased its authorized common shares by 700 million shares (from 200M to 900M). This amendment was filed with Maryland authorities and became effective March 30, 2026. The increase provides capacity for a large equity issuance.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
We expect to issue and deliver these common shares on or about April 2, 2026. However, the issuance and delivery of the shares is subject to various conditions and contingencies as are customary in underwriting agreements in the United States.
The company plans to issue common shares around April 2, 2026, subject to customary underwriting conditions. The filing indicates this is a substantial offering given the authorized share increase, though the exact number of shares is not specified in this 8-K.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Our current intent is to use the net proceeds from the offering to redeem, together with cash on hand, all or a portion of (1) the $100 million aggregate principal amount of our outstanding 4.95% Senior Notes due 2027 and (2) $370 million aggregate principal amount of our outstanding 5.50% Senior Notes due 2027 assuming the underwriters do not exercise their option to purchase additional common shares.
The company intends to use proceeds from the equity offering to redeem up to $470 million in senior notes maturing in 2027. This represents a debt-for-equity refinancing that will reduce near-term debt maturities but dilute existing shareholders.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The underwriters have been granted an option to purchase up to an additional 62,500,000 common shares.
Underwriters have an option to purchase an additional 62.5 million shares (greenshoe option). If exercised in full, this would represent significant additional dilution and provide proceeds to redeem more of the 5.50% Senior Notes due 2027.
Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits
Service Properties Trust completed an underwritten public offering and filed articles of amendment on March 30, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Underwriting Agreement, dated as of March 31, 2026, between the Company and Yorkville Securities, LLC, as the representative of the several underwriters named therein.
Service Properties Trust entered into an underwriting agreement with Yorkville Securities, LLC and other underwriters on March 31, 2026. This indicates the company completed a public securities offering, likely raising capital through the sale of equity or debt securities. The specific terms, size, and purpose of the offering are not disclosed in this 8-K filing.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Articles of Amendment dated March 30, 2026.
The company filed articles of amendment on March 30, 2026, which typically modify the company's charter or governing documents. This could relate to authorized share changes, name changes, or other structural modifications, potentially in connection with the underwritten offering. The specific nature of the amendments is not detailed in this 8-K.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 3, 2026 · How we verify