Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when STWD files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsStarwood Property Trust launches $600M debt offering to refinance 2026 notes
Filed May 11, 2026 · Period ending May 11, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
Company commenced private placement of $600 million unsecured senior notes due 2031, offered only to institutional buyers under Rule 144A (not SEC-registered).
Item 8.01 verify on EDGAR → -
high
Proceeds will initially redeem $400 million of existing 3.625% senior notes maturing in 2026 and repay repurchase facility debt, addressing near-term maturities.
Item 8.01 verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Company intends to allocate proceeds to green and social projects over time, positioning for ESG-aligned investments once interim refinancing is complete.
Item 8.01 verify on EDGAR →
Summary
Starwood Property Trust announced a $600 million private debt offering on May 11, 2026, issuing unsecured senior notes due 2031 exclusively to institutional investors. The immediate use of proceeds is straightforward refinancing: the company will redeem $400 million of notes maturing in 2026 and pay down short-term repurchase facility debt.
This addresses near-term debt maturities and likely adjusts the company's interest rate profile, though the new coupon rate was not disclosed in the 8-K. The company frames the offering as eventually funding green and social projects, but that allocation will occur over time. For now, this is a balance sheet management move.
Retail holders should watch for the final pricing terms (interest rate and any covenants) in a subsequent filing, as well as whether the company successfully completes the offering. The refinancing reduces 2026 maturity risk, but the shift to longer-term debt at prevailing rates could impact interest expense going forward.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits
Starwood Property Trust filed an 8-K attaching a press release dated May 11, 2026; no material event details disclosed in the filing body.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Press Release dated May 11, 2026 issued by Starwood Property Trust, Inc.
The 8-K references an attached press release dated May 11, 2026. The filing body does not disclose the content or subject matter of the press release, so the nature and materiality of the event cannot be determined from this 8-K alone. Investors should review Exhibit 99.1 for details.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 1, 2026 · How we verify