Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when STT files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NYSE: STT STATE STREET CORP 8-K

State Street expects to receive $1.5B in proceeds in senior notes with 2032 and 2037 maturities

Filed April 24, 2026 · Period ending April 21, 2026 · ~1 min read

3 key changes 1 high relevance 2 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    State Street issued $1.5 billion in fixed-to-floating rate senior notes split between $800 million maturing in 2032 and $700 million in 2037, strengthening its long-term funding base.

  • medium

    Net proceeds total approximately $1.492 billion after underwriting discounts and expenses, with no specific use disclosed in the filing.

  • low

    Morgan Stanley, Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs, and UBS served as underwriters for the public offering under an agreement dated April 21, 2026.

    Item 1.01 view on EDGAR →

Summary

State Street Corporation completed a $1.5 billion debt offering on April 24, 2026, issuing senior notes in two tranches with maturities in 2032 and 2037. Both tranches feature fixed-to-floating rate structures, meaning they will pay fixed interest initially before converting to rates tied to a market benchmark. After transaction costs, the company will receive approximately $1.492 billion in net proceeds.

For retail investors, this represents a routine capital markets transaction that extends State Street's debt maturity profile and provides additional financial flexibility. The fixed-to-floating structure is common for financial institutions, allowing them to match funding costs with asset yields as interest rates change. The filing does not specify how proceeds will be used, suggesting general corporate purposes.

Investors should watch for State Street's next quarterly earnings report to see how this new debt impacts the company's capital ratios, interest expense, and overall leverage metrics. The company's ability to access capital markets at scale with four major underwriters signals continued market confidence in its creditworthiness.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 8.01 — Other Events

~500 words

Item 8.01 — Other Events filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Net proceeds medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

State Street expects to receive net proceeds from the offering of the Notes of approximately $1.492 billion, after deducting the underwriting discounts and estimated offering expenses.

After paying underwriters and offering costs, State Street will net approximately $1.492 billion from the $1.5 billion issuance, implying roughly $8 million in total transaction costs. The company has not disclosed specific uses for these proceeds in this filing, which is typical for general corporate purposes debt.

Show 1 minor / wording change
Added Underwriting arrangement low

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The sale of the Notes was made pursuant to the terms of an underwriting agreement dated April 21, 2026 (the “Underwriting Agreement”), entered into among State Street and Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC, Deutsche Bank Securities Inc., Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC and UBS Securities LLC, as representatives of the underwriters named therein.

State Street engaged four major investment banks—Morgan Stanley, Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs, and UBS—to underwrite and distribute the notes. This is a standard arrangement for large corporate debt offerings, where underwriters purchase the securities and resell them to investors, providing pricing certainty and market access to the issuer.

Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits

~200 words

Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits filed; see Key Changes for terms.

3 Added
Added Senior note issuance high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Underwriting Agreement, dated April 21, 2026, by and among State Street Corporation and Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC, Deutsche Bank Securities Inc., Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC and UBS Securities LLC, as representatives of the several underwriters named therein

State Street entered into an underwriting agreement on April 21, 2026 with four major investment banks to issue senior notes. The filing discloses two tranches of fixed-to-floating rate senior notes maturing in 2032 and 2037, representing new debt financing for the company.

Added 2032 senior notes medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Form of Fixed-to-Floating Rate Senior Note due 2032

State Street issued fixed-to-floating rate senior notes with a 2032 maturity. These notes will pay a fixed rate initially before converting to a floating rate, providing the company with medium-term debt financing.

Added 2037 senior notes medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Form of Fixed-to-Floating Rate Senior Note due 2037

State Street issued fixed-to-floating rate senior notes with a 2037 maturity. These longer-dated notes extend the company's debt maturity profile and provide additional capital flexibility over an 11-year horizon.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 2, 2026 · How we verify