Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when SPIR files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NYSE: SPIR Spire Global, Inc. 8-K

Spire Global raises $70M in private placement at $14/share, diluting by 5M shares

Filed April 10, 2026 · Period ending April 8, 2026 · ~1 min read

3 key changes 1 high relevance 4 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Spire sold 5 million Class A shares at $14.00 each in a private placement that closed April 10, raising $70M gross for working capital and general corporate purposes. This represents immediate dilution to existing shareholders.

  • medium

    Company agreed to 90-day standstill on new equity issuances after resale registration becomes effective, plus six-month ban on variable rate transactions. Executives and directors locked up from selling for 90 days from closing.

  • medium

    Spire must file resale registration statement by April 23 and get it effective by May 8, allowing new investors to sell shares into public market. Registration must stay effective until all shares sold or freely tradable.

Summary

Spire Global completed a $70 million private placement on April 10, issuing 5 million Class A shares at $14.00 per share. The deal provides immediate capital for working capital and general corporate purposes, but dilutes existing shareholders by adding 5 million shares to the float.

The company committed to register these shares for resale by early May, which will allow the new investors to sell into the public market and could create selling pressure. Retail investors should note the 90-day restrictions on further equity issuances and the insider lock-up, which provide some near-term protection against additional dilution.

However, the six-month ban on variable rate transactions suggests the company wanted to preserve flexibility for future financing while avoiding more dilutive structures. Watch for the resale registration statement filing by April 23 and whether it becomes effective on schedule by May 8. Once effective, monitor trading volume and price action as the 5 million newly registered shares become available for sale by the private placement investors.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement

~1,000 words

Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Issuance restrictions and lock-up medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Pursuant to the Purchase Agreement, the Company agreed that until the date that is 90 days from the effective date (the “Effective Date”) of the registration statement (the “Registration Statement”) filed by the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) for purposes of registering the resale of the Shares, neither the Company nor any subsidiary will issue, enter into any agreement to issue or announce the issuance of Common Stock or any securities convertible into or exercisable or exchangeable for Common Stock, or file a registration statement other than the Registration Statement, subject to certain exceptions. The Company has further agreed not to enter into an agreement involving a Variable Rate Transaction (as defined in the Purchase Agreement) until six months from the Effective Date. In addition, pursuant to lock-up agreements, the Company’s executive officers and directors agreed that until the date that is 90 days from the closing date of the Private Placement, they will not sell or transfer any Common Stock or any securities convertible into or exercisable or exchangeable for Common Stock, subject to certain exceptions.

Spire agreed to a 90-day standstill on issuing new equity or convertible securities after the resale registration statement becomes effective, and a six-month prohibition on variable rate transactions. Executive officers and directors also agreed to a 90-day lock-up from the closing date, restricting their ability to sell shares.

Added Registration rights agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

In addition, on April 8, 2026, the Company and the Purchasers entered into a registration rights agreement (the “Registration Rights Agreement”), pursuant to which the Company agreed to file the Registration Statement with the SEC on or before April 23, 2026 for purposes of registering the resale of the Shares, to use its reasonable best efforts to have such Registration Statement declared effective no later than May 8, 2026, and to keep the Registration Statement effective until the date that all registrable securities covered by the Registration Statement (i) have been sold, thereunder or pursuant to Rule 144, or (ii) may be sold without volume or manner-of-sale restrictions pursuant to Rule 144 and without the requirement for the Company to be in compliance with the current public information requirement under Rule 144.

Spire committed to file a resale registration statement by April 23, 2026, and to use reasonable best efforts to have it declared effective by May 8, 2026. The company must keep the registration statement effective until all shares are sold or can be freely traded under Rule 144.

Event · Item 3.02 — Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities

~29 words

Spire Global disclosed unregistered equity sales, referencing Item 1.01 details not provided in this excerpt.

1 Added
Added Unregistered equity sales medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Item 3.02. Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities.

The disclosures set forth in Item 1.01 above are incorporated by reference into this Item 3.02.

The company disclosed unregistered sales of equity securities under Item 3.02, with details incorporated by reference from Item 1.01. Without the Item 1.01 content, the specific terms, amount, and parties involved cannot be determined from this excerpt alone.

Event · Item 7.01 — Regulation FD Disclosure

~51 words

Company announced a private placement via press release on April 9, 2026.

1 Added
Added Private Placement Announcement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On April 9, 2026, the Company issued a press release announcing the Private Placement.

Spire Global disclosed that it announced a private placement transaction through a press release. The 8-K provides no details about the size, terms, or purpose of the private placement, referring only to an attached exhibit for full information.

Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits

~400 words

Spire Global entered into a securities purchase agreement with investors on April 8, 2026, issuing securities under a registered offering.

3 Added
Added Securities Purchase Agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Securities Purchase Agreement, dated April 8, 2026, by and between the Company and the Purchasers named therein.

Spire Global executed a securities purchase agreement with unnamed purchasers on April 8, 2026. The 8-K does not disclose the amount raised, the type of securities sold, or the identity of the purchasers. This represents a capital raise transaction, though the materiality cannot be assessed without the exhibit details.

Added Registration Rights Agreement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Registration Rights Agreement, dated April 8, 2026, by and between the Company and the Purchasers named therein.

Concurrent with the securities purchase, Spire granted registration rights to the purchasers, obligating the company to register the securities for resale. This typically accompanies private placements and may result in future dilution when shares are registered and sold into the public market.

Added Use of Proceeds Disclosure high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

This Current Report on Form 8-K contains forward-looking statements, including information about the intended use of proceeds, management’s view of the Company’s future expectations, plans and prospects, including our views regarding future execution within our business, and the opportunity we see in our industry

The forward-looking statement section references intended use of proceeds, confirming this is a capital raise. However, the 8-K body itself does not specify the amount raised or how proceeds will be used. Investors must review the press release (Exhibit 99.1) or purchase agreement (Exhibit 10.1) for material terms.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 3, 2026 · How we verify