Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when SFST files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NASDAQ: SFST SOUTHERN FIRST BANCSHARES INC 8-K

Southern First Bancshares prices $53.2M equity offering at $54.00 per share

Filed April 16, 2026 · Period ending April 15, 2026 · ~1 min read

5 key changes 2 high relevance 3 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Company is selling 1,050,000 shares at $54.00 per share through underwritten public offering led by Piper Sandler, raising approximately $53.2 million net of fees. This represents immediate dilution to existing shareholders.

  • medium

    Underwriters have 30-day option to purchase additional 157,500 shares (15% greenshoe), which could increase total proceeds to $61.3 million and further dilute existing holders if exercised.

  • high

    Filing does not specify intended use of proceeds. Investors should review the prospectus supplement for details on how the bank plans to deploy this capital.

  • low

    Directors and certain executives agreed to 90-day lock-up restrictions on selling their shares, providing near-term price stability by preventing insider sales.

  • low

    Offering conducted under existing shelf registration (Form S-3) declared effective February 2026, allowing efficient capital market access without new registration.

Summary

Southern First Bancshares priced an underwritten public offering of 1,050,000 common shares at $54.00 per share on April 15, 2026, raising approximately $53.2 million in net proceeds. The offering, led by Piper Sandler with Keefe, Bruyette & Woods participating, includes a standard 15% overallotment option that could boost total proceeds to $61.3 million if fully exercised.

This represents meaningful dilution for existing shareholders—roughly 1.05 million new shares entering the market. For retail investors, the critical missing piece is how management plans to use these proceeds. Banks typically raise equity capital to support loan growth, strengthen regulatory capital ratios, fund acquisitions, or improve their balance sheet position.

The lack of specified use-of-proceeds in this 8-K means shareholders should review the prospectus supplement for strategic rationale. The 90-day insider lock-up provides some assurance against immediate selling pressure from management. Watch for: (1) the prospectus supplement detailing use of proceeds, (2) whether underwriters exercise the greenshoe option (signaling demand strength), and (3) the company's capital ratios in the next quarterly report to understand if this was growth capital or defensive shoring-up of the balance sheet.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement

~600 words

Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Net proceeds high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

After deducting underwriting discounts and commissions and estimated offering expenses payable by the Company, the Company expects the net proceeds of the Offering to be approximately $53.2 million, or approximately $61.3 million if the Underwriters exercise in full their option to purchase additional shares of Common Stock.

The company expects to receive approximately $53.2 million in net proceeds from the base offering, or $61.3 million if the overallotment option is fully exercised. The filing does not specify how these proceeds will be used, which investors should monitor in the prospectus supplement.

Show 1 minor / wording change
Added Lock-up agreements low

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

In connection with the Offering, the Company’s directors and certain executive officers entered into customary lock-up agreements with the Underwriters providing for a 90-day restriction on the sale or transfer of specified securities of the Company, subject to certain exceptions.

Directors and certain executives have agreed not to sell their shares for 90 days following the offering, which is a standard provision to prevent insider selling that could undermine the offering price. This provides some near-term price stability.

Event · Item 7.01 — Regulation FD Disclosure

~200 words

SFST announced pricing of a securities offering via press release on April 15, 2026.

1 Added
Added Securities offering pricing high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On April 15, 2026, the Company issued a press release announcing the pricing of the Offering.

Southern First Bancshares announced the pricing of a securities offering on April 15, 2026. The 8-K furnishes the press release as an exhibit but does not disclose the specific terms, size, or pricing details of the offering within the filing itself.

Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits

~100 words

Southern First Bancshares filed an 8-K disclosing an underwriting agreement dated April 15, 2026, suggesting a securities offering.

3 Added
Added Underwriting Agreement high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Underwriting Agreement dated April 15, 2026.

The company entered into an underwriting agreement on April 15, 2026. This typically indicates a public offering of securities such as common stock or debt, where underwriters agree to purchase and resell the securities. The specific terms, size, and purpose of the offering are not disclosed in this 8-K filing itself but would be detailed in the referenced exhibit.

Added Legal Opinion medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Opinion of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP.

The company obtained a legal opinion from Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP. Such opinions are standard in securities offerings to confirm the validity and legal issuance of the securities being offered. This supports the interpretation that a securities transaction occurred.

Added Press Release high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Press Release dated April 15, 2026.

A press release was issued on April 15, 2026, likely announcing the securities offering or related transaction. The content of the press release is not included in this 8-K body but would provide additional details about the transaction's purpose, size, and terms.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 3, 2026 · How we verify