Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when PCG files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsPG&E extends credit facilities to 2029/2031, increases utility capacity to $6.25B
Filed June 23, 2026 · Period ending June 22, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
Pacific Gas and Electric Company extended its $5.4B revolving credit facility to June 2031 and increased commitments to $6.25B, enhancing liquidity for capital investments and operations.
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR → -
high
PG&E Corp added collateral release terms: lien drops if the company achieves investment grade ratings from two agencies, maintains no default, and keeps other secured debt below $250M.
Item 8.01 — Other Events verify on EDGAR → -
medium
PG&E Corp extended its revolving credit facility maturity to June 2029, reducing near-term refinancing risk.
Item 8.01 — Other Events verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Both facilities modified interest rate and commitment fee pricing grids, though specific new rates were not disclosed.
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
Summary
PG&E Corp and its utility subsidiary Pacific Gas and Electric Company amended their revolving credit facilities on June 22, 2026, securing enhanced liquidity and extended maturities. The utility's facility saw the most significant upgrade: an $850 million capacity increase to $6.25 billion and a five-year maturity extension to June 2031.
This provides substantial financial flexibility for the utility's ongoing capital program and operational needs.
The parent company extended its facility to June 2029 and introduced a notable collateral release mechanism tied to credit quality—if PG&E Corp achieves investment grade ratings from at least two agencies and maintains other secured debt below $250 million, the lien securing the facility drops automatically, converting it to unsecured status. The lien reinstates if ratings fall or secured debt exceeds the threshold. For retail investors, these amendments represent a routine refinancing that strengthens PG&E's liquidity position and pushes refinancing risk further into the future. The collateral release provision creates a clear incentive structure around credit rating improvement, aligning management's interests with bondholders. Both amendments modified pricing grids for interest rates and commitment fees, though the 8-K does not disclose the specific new rates—investors should monitor whether future filings reveal tighter or wider spreads relative to prior terms.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 8.01 — Other Events
Item 8.01 — Other Events filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
modify both the interest rate pricing grid and commitment fee pricing grid
The amendment modified the pricing grids that determine the interest rate and commitment fees under the credit facility. The specific new rates are not disclosed in the 8-K body, but changes to pricing grids typically reflect updated credit terms based on the company's financial profile or market conditions.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Pursuant to the collateral release terms, the lien on the collateral securing the obligations under the Corporation Revolving Credit Agreement will be released if PG&E Corporation receives senior unsecured investment grade credit ratings from at least two rating agencies, no Event of Default exists under the Corporation Revolving Credit Agreement and PG&E Corporation has not more than $250,000,000 of secured indebtedness for borrowed money (other than loans under the Corporation Revolving Credit Agreement) then outstanding. The lien will be reinstated automatically if either PG&E Corporation fails to maintain investment grade credit ratings from at least two agencies or has more than $250,000,000 of secured indebtedness for borrowed money (other than loans under the Corporation Revolving Credit Agreement) outstanding.
The amendment introduces a mechanism allowing PG&E to release the collateral securing the credit facility if it achieves investment grade ratings from at least two agencies, maintains no default, and keeps other secured debt below $250 million. The lien automatically reinstates if ratings fall below investment grade or secured debt exceeds the threshold. This provides a path to unsecured borrowing status contingent on credit quality improvement.
Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Utility Revolving Credit Agreement was amended to, among other things, (i) extend the maturity date of such agreement to June 20, 2031, (ii) increase the aggregate commitments provided by the lenders thereunder from $5,400,000,000 to $6,250,000,000 and (iii) modify both the interest rate pricing grid and commitment fee pricing grid.
Pacific Gas and Electric Company amended its revolving credit facility, extending the maturity by approximately $5,400,000,000 five years to June 2031 and increasing available borrowing capacity by $850 million to $6.25 billion. The amendment also modified interest rate and commitment fee pricing, though specific new rates are not disclosed in the 8-K body. This provides the utility with enhanced liquidity and longer-term financial flexibility for capital investments and operations.
Show 1 minor / wording change
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On June 22, 2026, Pacific Gas and Electric Company, the several banks and other financial institutions or entities party thereto from time to time and Citibank, N.A., as administrative agent and designated agent, entered into Amendment No. 6 to Credit Agreement
The amendment was executed on June 22, 2026, with Citibank serving as administrative agent. This is the sixth amendment to the original July 2020 credit agreement, indicating ongoing refinement of the facility terms over its life.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 23, 2026 · How we verify