Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when NHC files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts

Red Flags Detected

  • Related Party (new) — Transaction with National Health Investors required Delaware Section 144 disinterested-director approval, though company asserts arm's-length pricing and unanimous independent board approval.
NYSE AMERICAN: NHC NATIONAL HEALTHCARE CORP 8-K

NHC acquires 35 senior-care facilities for $560M, converting leased assets to owned real estate

Filed July 1, 2026 · Period ending June 29, 2026 · ~1 min read

5 key changes 2 high relevance 1 red flag 3 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Acquired 32 skilled nursing and 3 independent living facilities from National Health Investors for $560 million, converting properties leased since 1991 to owned assets. Management expects the ownership structure to be accretive to earnings and cash flow.

    Item 2.01 — Completion of Acquisition or Disposition of Assets verify on EDGAR →
  • high

    Transaction received unanimous approval from disinterested directors under Delaware Section 144, indicating related-party status. Purchase price determined through arm's-length negotiations between NHC and NHI management.

    Item 2.01 — Completion of Acquisition or Disposition of Assets verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Terminated master lease covering acquired facilities except four Florida skilled nursing centers, which remain subleased to a third-party operator. NHC subsidiary assumed the master lease for these four locations.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Increased revolving credit facility from $50 million to $75 million, providing $25 million in additional borrowing capacity. Terminated prior credit agreement with Bank of America with no outstanding borrowings.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • low

    Acquired facilities span seven states (Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia), complementing NHC's existing Southeast and Mid-Atlantic operations.

    Exhibit 99.1 view on EDGAR →

Summary

National Healthcare Corp completed a $560 million acquisition of 35 senior-care facilities from National Health Investors, converting properties it has leased and operated since 1991 into owned real estate. The portfolio includes 32 skilled nursing facilities and 3 independent living facilities across seven states.

NHC will directly operate 31 of the facilities, while four Florida skilled nursing centers remain under a third-party operator's lease. The transaction required special board review as a related-party matter under Delaware law, receiving unanimous approval from disinterested directors after arm's-length negotiations.

Management expects the ownership conversion to be accretive to earnings and cash flow by eliminating lease payments and providing full operational control. To support the acquisition, NHC expanded its revolving credit facility from $50 million to $75 million and terminated its prior credit agreement with Bank of America. For retail holders, the key question is whether the $560 million purchase price and expected accretion justify the related-party structure. The company's assertion of independent oversight and arm's-length pricing addresses governance concerns, but investors should monitor whether the promised earnings and cash flow improvements materialize in subsequent quarters.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Exhibit 99.1

4 Added
Added Real estate acquisition high

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

it has completed the acquisition of the real estate of thirty-two skilled nursing facilities and three independent living facilities from National Health Investors, Inc. and its affiliates (“NHI”) for a $560 million purchase price. NHC, through affiliates, had been leasing and operating these facilities under a Master Agreement to Lease with NHI originally entered into in 1991.

NHC acquired 35 facilities (32 skilled nursing, 3 independent living) for $560 million from National Health Investors. These properties were previously leased under a 1991 master lease agreement. The transaction converts long-term lease obligations into owned real estate, giving NHC direct operational control over assets it already operates.

Added Geographic footprint medium

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

The real estate where these facilities are located is in Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.

The acquired facilities span seven states across the Southeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. This geographic distribution complements NHC's existing operations in these markets, where the company already provides skilled nursing, assisted living, homecare, hospice, and behavioral health services.

Added Operational continuity medium

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

NHC currently operates and will continue to operate all of these facilities, except four Florida skilled nursing facilities. The four Florida skilled nursing facilities will continue to be subject to a third-party operator’s lease.

NHC will directly operate 31 of the 35 acquired facilities. Four Florida skilled nursing facilities remain under a third-party operator's lease arrangement. This ensures continuity of care while maintaining existing operational structures where appropriate.

Added Expected financial impact high

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

owning these healthcare centers – versus leasing – will yield strong, long-term returns for our investors and is expected to be accretive to earnings and cash flow

Management expects the ownership conversion to be accretive to both earnings and cash flow. By eliminating lease payments and gaining full operational control, NHC anticipates improved long-term returns, though specific financial projections were not disclosed.

Event · Item 1.02 — Termination of a Material Definitive Agreement

~100 words

Item 1.02 — Termination of a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.

1 Added
Added Credit agreement termination medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On the Closing Date, as contemplated by the Credit Agreement, NHC terminated all commitments to lend under that existing Credit Agreement dated as of August 1, 2024 (the “Existing Credit Agreement”) among NHC, as borrower, certain of NHC’s subsidiaries, as guarantors, and Bank of America. As of immediately prior to such termination, there were no outstanding borrowings or other amounts due under the Existing Credit Agreement.

NHC terminated its existing credit agreement dated August 1, 2024 with Bank of America. The termination occurred as contemplated by a new credit agreement referenced in prior 8-Ks. At the time of termination, there were no outstanding borrowings or amounts due, indicating this was a clean refinancing or replacement rather than a distressed termination.

Event · Item 2.01 — Completion of Acquisition or Disposition of Assets

~200 words

NHC completed an acquisition or disposition transaction with NHI, previously disclosed in April 2026.

1 Added
Added Transaction completion high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The information set forth in the Introductory Note to this report and in Item 1.01 of the April 21st Current Report is incorporated by reference into this Item 2.01 to the extent such information is responsive to the disclosure requirements of Item 2.01 of Current Report on Form 8-K.

NHC completed an acquisition or disposition transaction that was previously announced in an April 21, 2026 8-K. The filing confirms the transaction closed but does not disclose the specific assets, purchase price, or whether this was an acquisition or disposition. All material terms are incorporated by reference to the prior filing.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jul 6, 2026 · How we verify