Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when KRG files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NYSE: KRG KITE REALTY GROUP TRUST 8-K

Kite Realty closes $345M exchangeable notes at 3.25%, retires $300M 4.00% debt

Filed July 2, 2026 · Period ending June 29, 2026 · ~1 min read

4 key changes 2 high relevance 5 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Issued $345M exchangeable senior notes due 2032 at 3.25%, exchangeable into common shares at $35.40/share (22.5% premium to June 29 close of $28.90). Notes pay interest semi-annually starting April 2027.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • high

    Used proceeds to retire $300M of 4.00% senior notes due 2026 and repurchase ~$30M of common shares, reducing interest expense and returning capital to shareholders.

    Exhibit 99.2 view on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Entered capped call transactions with cap price of $41.91/share (45% premium) to reduce potential dilution from note exchanges; up to 11.9M shares could be issued at initial maximum exchange rate.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Company can redeem notes starting July 2029 if share price reaches 130% of exchange price for 20 of 30 trading days; also retains right to redeem anytime to preserve REIT status.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →

Summary

Kite Realty completed a $345 million exchangeable notes offering that refinances higher-cost debt while managing dilution. The company replaced $300 million of 4.00% senior notes maturing in 2026 with new 3.25% notes due 2032, reducing annual interest expense by 75 basis points on that principal. The notes are exchangeable into common shares at $35.40, a 22.5% premium to the June 29 close, with capped call transactions providing dilution protection up to $41.91 per share.

The company also used approximately $30 million of proceeds to repurchase common shares concurrently with the offering, returning capital to shareholders while the capped calls mitigate the dilutive impact of the exchangeable feature. The structure is typical for REITs seeking to refinance maturing debt at lower rates while preserving equity upside through the exchange premium. The transaction extends the maturity profile, reduces near-term refinancing risk, and lowers the cost of capital.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Exhibit 99.2

1 Added
Added Redemption provisions medium

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

The Operating Partnership may redeem the Notes, at its option, in whole or in part, on any business day on or after July 20, 2029, if the last reported sale price of the Common Shares has been at least 130% of the exchange price then in effect for at least 20 trading days (whether or not consecutive) during any 30 consecutive trading day period ending on, and including, the trading day immediately preceding the date on which the Operating Partnership provides notice of redemption at a redemption price equal to 100% of the principal amount of the Notes to be redeemed, plus accrued and unpaid interest to, but excluding, the redemption date (the “redemption price”).

The company can redeem the notes starting July 20, 2029 if the stock price reaches at least 130% of the exchange price for 20 out of 30 consecutive trading days. The company also has the right to redeem notes at any time to preserve its REIT status or if less than 10% of the original principal amount remains outstanding.

Event · Exhibit 99.1

KRG priced $300M exchangeable senior notes at 3.25% due 2032 to refinance maturing debt and repurchase shares.

3 Added
Added Exchangeable notes offering high

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

on June 29, 2026 its operating partnership, Kite Realty Group, L.P. (the “Operating Partnership”), priced an offering (the “Offering”) of $300 million aggregate principal amount of 3.25% exchangeable senior notes due 2032 (the “Notes”) in a private placement to persons reasonably believed to be qualified institutional buyers pursuant to Rule 144A under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”). The Operating Partnership also granted the initial purchasers of the Notes an option to purchase up to an additional $45 million aggregate principal amount of Notes. The sale of the Notes is expected to close on July 2, 2026, subject to customary closing conditions.

The company's operating partnership priced $300 million of exchangeable senior notes with a 3.25% coupon maturing in 2032, with an additional $45 million greenshoe option. The notes are exchangeable into common shares at an initial exchange price of approximately $35.40 per share, representing a 22.5% premium to the June 29, 2026 closing price of $28.90. The offering is expected to close on July 2, 2026.

Added Use of proceeds high

Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →

The Operating Partnership estimates that the net proceeds from the Offering will be approximately $291.8 million (or approximately $335.7 million if the initial purchasers exercise their option to purchase additional Notes in full), after deducting the initial purchasers’ discount and estimated offering expenses payable by the Company and the Operating Partnership. The Operating Partnership intends to use the net proceeds from the Offering to enter into the capped call transactions described below and to use the remaining net proceeds from the Offering, together with the proceeds from our recent asset dispositions, to (i) repurchase approximately $30 million of the Company’s Common Shares concurrently with the pricing of the Offering in privately negotiated transactions through one of the initial purchasers of the Offering or its affiliates, as the Operating Partnership’s agent, and (ii) repay or redeem all of the Operating Partnership’s $300 million aggregate principal amount of 4.00% senior unsecured notes due 2026 at or prior to maturity.

Net proceeds of approximately $291.8 million will be used to enter into capped call transactions, repurchase approximately $30 million of common shares, and repay or redeem the company's $300 million of 4.00% senior notes due 2026. The refinancing replaces 4.00% debt with 3.25% debt, reducing interest expense, while the share repurchase and capped call transactions manage dilution from the exchangeable feature.

Added Exchange terms medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Prior to the close of business on the business day immediately preceding January 15, 2032, the Notes will be exchangeable into cash up to the principal amount of the Notes exchanged and, if applicable, cash or common shares of beneficial interest, par value $0.01 per share, of the Company (the “Common Shares”) or a combination thereof, only upon certain circumstances and during certain periods. On or after January 15, 2032, the Notes will be exchangeable into cash up to the principal amount of the Notes exchanged and, if applicable, cash or Common Shares or a combination thereof at the option of the holders at any time prior to the close of business on the second scheduled trading day preceding the Maturity Date. The exchange rate will initially equal 28.2466 Common Shares per $1,000 principal amount of the Notes, which is equivalent to an exchange price of approximately $35.40 per Common Share and an exchange premium of approximately 22.5% based on the closing price of $28.90 per Common Share on June 29, 2026.

Before January 15, 2032, the notes are exchangeable only under certain conditions; after that date, holders can exchange at any time. The initial exchange rate is 28.2466 shares per $1,000 principal, equivalent to an exchange price of approximately $35.40 per share. Holders receive cash for the principal amount and either cash or shares for any value above principal.

Event · Item 8.01 — Other Events

~94 words

Kite Realty issued press releases announcing the pricing and issuance of notes in a debt offering.

2 Added
Added Notes pricing announcement medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On June 30, 2026, the Company and the Issuer issued a press release pursuant to Rule 135c under the Securities Act in connection with the pricing of the Notes.

The company announced the pricing of a debt offering on June 30, 2026. The 8-K references the pricing press release but does not disclose the terms, amount, or interest rate of the notes.

Added Notes issuance completion medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On July 2, 2026, the Company and the Issuer issued a press release pursuant to Rule 135c under the Securities Act in connection with the issuance of the Notes.

The company announced the completion and issuance of the notes on July 2, 2026. The 8-K confirms the transaction closed but does not provide details on the offering size, maturity, or use of proceeds.

Event · Item 3.02 — Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities

~100 words

Item 3.02 — Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities filed; see Key Changes for terms.

2 Added
Added Convertible notes issuance high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The Notes were issued to the initial purchasers in reliance upon Section 4(a) (2) of the Securities Act, in transactions not involving any public offering. The Notes were resold by the initial purchasers to persons whom the initial purchasers reasonably believe are “qualified institutional buyers,” as defined in and in accordance with Rule 144A under the Securities Act.

KRG issued convertible notes in a private placement to institutional buyers under Section 4(a)(2) of the Securities Act. The notes were then resold to qualified institutional buyers under Rule 144A. This is a common financing structure for convertible debt offerings that avoids public registration requirements.

Added Potential share dilution high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Initially, a maximum of 11,937,690 Common Shares may be issued upon exchange of the Notes, based on the initial maximum exchange rate of 34.6020 Common Shares per $1,000 principal amount of Notes, which is subject to customary adjustments.

Up to 11,937,690 common shares could be issued if noteholders convert their debt to equity at the initial maximum exchange rate of 34.6020 shares per $1,000 principal. This represents potential dilution to existing shareholders, though the actual dilution depends on whether and when noteholders choose to convert and on any adjustments to the exchange rate.

Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement

~2,000 words

Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.

1 Added
Added Use of proceeds medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The net proceeds from the offering, after deducting the initial purchasers’ discount and estimated offering costs and expenses payable by the Issuer and the Company, were approximately $335.7 million.

The company received net proceeds of approximately $335.7 million from the notes offering after deducting fees and expenses. The filing does not disclose the specific intended use of these proceeds.

Was this report useful?