Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when JACK files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsRed Flags Detected
- Departure of CEO (new) — The CEO and another executive officer are departing the company, triggering interim leadership appointment.
Jack in the Box CEO Lance Tucker departs; Mark King named Interim CEO
Filed May 13, 2026 · Period ending May 8, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
CEO Lance Tucker and Chief Customer Officer Ryan Ostrom are leaving the company effective May 8 and May 15, 2026. The company stated there were no disagreements on operations or policies.
Item 5.02 verify on EDGAR → -
high
Mark King, current Independent Board Chair and former Taco Bell CEO, appointed Interim CEO effective immediately. He will receive $125,000 monthly salary and $2.4 million in RSUs vesting over 12 months.
Item 5.02 verify on EDGAR → -
high
Company announced Q2 fiscal 2026 financial results via press release. Specific financial metrics not disclosed in 8-K body.
Item 2.02 verify on EDGAR → -
medium
CFO Dawn Hooper granted $465,000 retention award and Chief Legal Officer Sarah Super granted $412,500 retention award, both contingent on employment through March 31, 2027.
Item 5.02 verify on EDGAR →
Summary
Jack in the Box announced a sudden leadership change with CEO Lance Tucker departing effective May 8, 2026, alongside Chief Customer Officer Ryan Ostrom. The company moved quickly to install Mark King, who joined the board just six months ago and became Independent Chair in March, as Interim CEO.
King brings relevant experience from leading Taco Bell and Xponential Fitness, but the 'interim' designation signals the board is likely conducting a permanent CEO search. The timing is notable: the leadership announcement came the same day as Q2 earnings results.
The company is taking steps to retain remaining executives, offering substantial retention bonuses to the CFO and Chief Legal Officer that extend through March 2027. While the 8-K states there were no disagreements on operations or policies, the abrupt nature of the CEO departure and immediate retention payments to other executives suggest potential instability. Retail investors should watch for: (1) any commentary on the CEO search timeline and criteria in upcoming investor communications, (2) Q2 earnings details and guidance that may provide context for the leadership change, and (3) whether additional executive departures follow in coming months.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 2.02 — Results of Operations and Financial Condition
Item 2.02 — Results of Operations and Financial Condition filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 13, 2026, Jack in the Box Inc. (the “Company”) issued a press release announcing its second quarter fiscal 2026 financial results and disclosing other information.
The company disclosed its second quarter fiscal 2026 financial results through a press release. The actual financial metrics and performance details are contained in the attached press release exhibit, which is not included in this 8-K body text.
Event · Item 5.02 — Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Compensation
Item 5.02 — Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Compensation filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
As of May 8, 2026, and May 15, 2026, respectively, Lance Tucker, the Company’s Chief Executive Officer, and Ryan Ostrom, the Company’s Chief Customer and Digital Officer, each will no longer be serving as executive officers of the Company.
CEO Lance Tucker and Chief Customer Officer Ryan Ostrom are departing. Both will receive severance under the company's executive severance plan. Tucker will also receive a $200,000 consulting payment. The company stated there were no disagreements on operations, policies, or practices.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Company entered into a cash retention award letter with Dawn Hooper, the Company’s Chief Financial Officer, providing for a conditional gross cash payment of $465,000, subject to continued active employment with the Company through March 31, 2027 and continued satisfactory performance and compliance with Company policies.
CFO Dawn Hooper will receive $465,000 in retention payments (50% in May 2026, 50% in March 2027) contingent on remaining employed through March 31, 2027. This suggests the company is working to retain key financial leadership during the CEO transition.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Company also entered into a cash retention award letter with Sarah Super, the Company’s Chief Legal & Administrative Officer, providing for a conditional gross cash payment of $412,500, subject to the same terms and conditions disclosed above, including continued active employment through March 31, 2027.
Chief Legal Officer Sarah Super will receive $412,500 in retention payments under the same structure as the CFO, indicating efforts to stabilize senior leadership during the transition period.
Event · Item 7.01 — Regulation FD Disclosure
Jack in the Box appointed an Interim Chief Executive Officer, Mr. King, effective May 8, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 13, 2026, the Company issued a press release announcing the appointment of Mr. King as Interim Chief Executive Officer.
Jack in the Box has appointed Mr. King as Interim Chief Executive Officer. The use of 'Interim' suggests this is a temporary leadership arrangement, typically occurring during a CEO transition period while the company searches for a permanent replacement or addresses an unexpected departure.
Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits
Jack in the Box filed 8-K disclosing Q2 2026 earnings and a leadership transition, both detailed in attached press releases.
Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →
99.1 Earnings Press Release dated May 13, 2026
The company disclosed its quarterly earnings results for the period ending May 8, 2026, via a press release attached as Exhibit 99.1. The 8-K body does not provide financial details; investors must review the full earnings release to assess revenue, profit, same-store sales, and guidance.
Added in current filing · view on EDGAR →
99.2 Leadership Transition Press Release dated May 13, 2026
The company announced a leadership transition via a press release attached as Exhibit 99.2. The 8-K body does not specify which executive role is affected or whether this is a departure, promotion, or new hire. Investors should review the full press release to understand the nature and potential impact of the change.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 1, 2026 · How we verify