Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when INTC files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NASDAQ: INTC INTEL CORP 8-K

Intel raises $6.5B in debt across five tranches with rates up to 6.2% for 40-year bonds

Filed April 30, 2026 · Period ending April 30, 2026 · ~1 min read

5 key changes 3 high relevance 2 sections

Key Changes

  • high

    Intel issued $6.5 billion in senior notes across five tranches maturing 2031-2066, netting $6.47 billion after underwriting fees. The offering includes $2.25B at 5.3% due 2036 and $1.75B at 6.125% due 2056.

    Item 1.01 view on EDGAR →
  • high

    Interest rates range from 4.65% for 5-year notes to 6.2% for 40-year bonds, reflecting market pricing for Intel's credit across different maturities. The higher long-term rates lock in borrowing costs for decades.

    Item 1.01 view on EDGAR →
  • high

    Intel has not disclosed the intended use of the $6.47 billion in net proceeds. Given Intel's capital-intensive manufacturing expansion plans, funds likely support fab construction or refinance existing debt.

    Item 1.01 view on EDGAR →
  • medium

    The offering was underwritten by Citigroup, JPMorgan, Barclays, BofA Securities, and Deutsche Bank under an agreement dated April 27, 2026, three days before closing.

  • low

    This marks Intel's 21st supplemental indenture under its debt program, with Computershare serving as trustee (succeeding Wells Fargo). The notes are senior unsecured obligations.

Summary

Intel completed a $6.5 billion debt offering on April 30, 2026, issuing senior notes across five tranches with maturities ranging from 5 to 40 years. The company will pay interest rates from 4.65% on the shortest notes to 6.2% on the 2066 bonds, reflecting current market conditions for investment-grade corporate debt. After underwriting discounts, Intel nets approximately $6.47 billion.

Retail investors should note that this substantial debt raise increases Intel's long-term obligations and interest expense. The filing does not specify how Intel will use the proceeds, which is critical context—whether for manufacturing expansion, acquisitions, or refinancing existing debt materially affects shareholder value.

The higher rates on long-dated bonds (over 6%) suggest investors are demanding meaningful compensation for locking in capital for decades, possibly reflecting concerns about Intel's competitive position or capital intensity. Watch for Intel's next quarterly earnings call or 10-Q filing for management's explanation of how these proceeds will be deployed. If funding new fabs, assess whether projected returns justify the cost of capital. If refinancing, compare the new rates to what's being replaced.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event

~200 words
3 Added
Added Debt issuance - $6.5 billion senior notes high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

On April 30, 2026, Intel Corporation (“Intel”) issued $1,000,000,000 aggregate principal amount of 4.650% Senior Notes due 2031 (the “2031 Notes”), $1,000,000,000 aggregate principal amount of 5.000% Senior Notes due 2033 (the “2033 Notes”), $2,250,000,000 aggregate principal amount of 5.300% Senior Notes due 2036 (the “2036 Notes”), $1,750,000,000 aggregate principal amount of 6.125% Senior Notes due 2056 (the “2056 Notes”) and $500,000,000 aggregate principal amount of 6.200% Senior Notes due 2066 (the “2066 Notes” and, together with the 2031 Notes, the 2033 Notes, the 2036 Notes and the 2056 Notes, the “Notes”)

Intel raised $6.5 billion through five separate tranches of senior notes with varying interest rates and maturity dates. The notes carry interest rates ranging from 4.650% to 6.200%, with maturities spanning from 5 years to 40 years. This represents a significant debt financing transaction that will increase Intel's long-term debt obligations.

Added Net proceeds from offering high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The aggregate principal amount of the Notes is $6.5 billion, and the net proceeds from the offering are approximately $6.47 billion, before expenses but after deducting the underwriting discounts.

Intel will receive approximately $6.47 billion in net proceeds after underwriting discounts, representing about 99.5% of the gross proceeds. The company has not disclosed in this filing the specific intended use of these proceeds, which investors should monitor in subsequent disclosures.

Added Underwriting agreement details medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

pursuant to the terms of an underwriting agreement dated April 27, 2026 (the “Underwriting Agreement”) among Intel and Citigroup Global Markets Inc., J.P. Morgan Securities LLC, Barclays Capital Inc., BofA Securities, Inc., and Deutsche Bank Securities Inc., as representatives of the several underwriters named therein

The debt offering was underwritten by a syndicate of major investment banks led by Citigroup, JPMorgan, Barclays, Bank of America, and Deutsche Bank. The underwriting agreement was executed three days before the notes were issued on April 30, 2026.

Event

~200 words
5 Added
Added Senior notes issuance high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Underwriting Agreement, dated as of April 27, 2026, among Intel Corporation and Citigroup Global Markets Inc., J.P. Morgan Securities LLC, Barclays Capital Inc., BofA Securities, Inc., and Deutsche Bank Securities Inc., as representatives of the several underwriters named therein

Intel entered into an underwriting agreement on April 27, 2026 with major investment banks to issue senior notes. This represents a debt financing transaction executed through a syndicate of underwriters led by Citigroup, JPMorgan, Barclays, BofA Securities, and Deutsche Bank.

Added 4.650% notes due 2031 medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Form of 4.650% Senior Note due 2031

Intel issued senior notes with a 4.650% coupon maturing in 2031, representing a 5-year debt instrument. The specific terms and principal amount are documented in the attached form of note.

Added 5.000% notes due 2033 medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Form of 5.000% Senior Note due 2033

Intel issued senior notes with a 5.000% coupon maturing in 2033, representing a 7-year debt instrument. This is part of a multi-tranche offering spanning different maturities.

Added Long-dated senior notes high

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Form of 6.125% Senior Note due 2056

Intel issued 30-year senior notes at 6.125% due 2056 and 40-year notes at 6.200% due 2066, securing long-term financing at higher rates reflecting the extended maturity profile. These ultra-long bonds lock in capital costs for decades and may fund capital-intensive manufacturing expansion or refinance existing debt.

Show 1 minor / wording change
Added Supplemental indenture low

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

Twenty-First Supplemental Indenture, dated as of April 30, 2026, between Intel Corporation and Computershare Trust Company, National Association (as successor to Wells Fargo Bank, National Association), as trustee

Intel executed its twenty-first supplemental indenture with Computershare as trustee to govern the new notes, indicating this is the 21st series or amendment under Intel's existing debt program. The trustee change from Wells Fargo to Computershare is also documented.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · May 11, 2026 · How we verify