Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when HUBB files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsHubbell to acquire NSI Industries for $3.0 billion in cash, financed with debt and cash
Filed May 4, 2026 · Period ending May 1, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
Hubbell signed definitive agreement to acquire NSI Industries, a provider of electrical fittings, connectors, and wire management products, for $3.0 billion cash, subject to customary adjustments. Deal targets industrial, infrastructure, and commercial markets.
Item 1.01: Stock Purchase Agreement verify on EDGAR → -
high
Acquisition will be financed with combination of cash-on-hand and new debt. Hubbell secured up to $2.8 billion bridge loan commitment from JPMorgan, Bank of America, and HSBC to fund purchase and repay NSI's existing debt.
Item 1.01 & 8.01: Financing verify on EDGAR → -
high
Hubbell faces $150 million termination fee if deal fails to close by outside date (8-12 months) due to antitrust approval issues. Deal requires Hart-Scott-Rodino clearance and standard closing conditions.
Item 1.01: Termination provisions verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Management expects acquisition to be accretive to adjusted operating margins and earnings per share, with cross-selling opportunities and channel conversions. NSI's 2026 adjusted EBITDA and revenue projections referenced but not disclosed.
Item 7.01: Forward-looking statements verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Earliest closing date is May 31, 2026, though Hubbell can consent to earlier close. Company acknowledges integration risks alongside recent Ventev, Nicor, and DMC Power acquisitions.
Item 1.01: Closing conditions verify on EDGAR →
Summary
Hubbell announced a major acquisition on May 1, 2026, agreeing to purchase NSI Industries for $3.0 billion in cash. NSI provides electrical fittings, connectors, components, and wire management products serving industrial, infrastructure, and commercial markets—a strategic fit with Hubbell's electrical solutions portfolio.
The company will finance the deal with existing cash and up to $2.8 billion in bridge loans from major banks, representing significant leverage. Retail investors should note this is Hubbell's largest recent acquisition and will materially increase the company's debt load.
Management projects the deal will be accretive to margins and earnings, with cross-selling opportunities, but has not disclosed specific financial targets for NSI. The transaction carries regulatory risk: if antitrust approval fails, Hubbell owes a $150 million breakup fee. Integration challenges are also acknowledged, particularly given Hubbell's recent string of acquisitions (Ventev, Nicor, DMC Power). Watch for: (1) antitrust clearance timeline and any regulatory pushback, (2) details on NSI's actual 2026 financial performance when disclosed, and (3) management's integration plan and debt paydown strategy on the next earnings call. The deal is expected to close between late May and early 2027.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 1, 2026, Hubbell Incorporated, a Connecticut corporation, and Hubbell Incorporated (Delaware), a Delaware corporation and wholly-owned subsidiary of Hubbell Incorporated, entered into a Stock Purchase Agreement (the “Agreement”), by and among Hubbell Incorporated (Delaware), NSI Electrical Buyer, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the “Company”), NSI Buyer, LP, a Delaware limited partnership (“Seller”), and Hubbell Incorporated, as parent guarantor (together with Hubbell Incorporated (Delaware), “Hubbell”). Subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the Agreement, Hubbell agreed to purchase NSI Industries, a provider of electrical fittings, connectors, components and wire management products serving industrial, infrastructure and commercial markets, by acquiring all the issued and outstanding capital stock of the Company (together with its subsidiaries, “NSI” and such acquisition, the “Transaction”).
Hubbell entered into a definitive agreement to acquire NSI Industries, a provider of electrical fittings, connectors, components and wire management products. The acquisition will be accomplished through a stock purchase of all outstanding capital stock of NSI Electrical Buyer, Inc. and its subsidiaries. NSI serves industrial, infrastructure and commercial markets.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Pursuant to the Agreement, Hubbell agreed to pay an aggregate purchase price of $3.0 billion in cash, subject to customary adjustments related to cash, indebtedness, working capital and transaction expenses, as set forth in the Agreement. Hubbell anticipates that the Transaction will be financed with a combination of cash-on-hand and debt.
The total purchase price is $3.0 billion in cash, subject to customary adjustments for cash, debt, working capital and transaction expenses. Hubbell plans to finance the acquisition using a combination of existing cash and new debt. This is a significant transaction representing a material capital deployment for the company.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The closing of the Transaction is subject to certain customary closing conditions, including, among others: (a) the expiration or termination of the applicable waiting period under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976, as amended; (b) the accuracy of the parties’ respective representations and warranties, subject to standards of materiality as set forth in the Agreement; (c) the compliance by the parties with their respective covenants and obligations under the Agreement, in all material respects; and (d) the absence of a Material Adverse Effect (as defined in the Agreement). The parties have agreed that the closing of the Transaction will not occur prior to May 31, 2026 without Hubbell’s consent.
The deal is subject to standard closing conditions including Hart-Scott-Rodino antitrust clearance, accuracy of representations and warranties, covenant compliance, and no material adverse effect. The earliest possible closing date is May 31, 2026, though Hubbell can consent to an earlier close. These conditions represent execution risk for the transaction.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Agreement includes customary termination provisions, including the right of either Hubbell or Seller to terminate the Agreement if (a) the closing of the Transaction has not occurred by eight months following the date of the Agreement (subject to two 60-day automatic extensions under certain circumstances up through the one-year anniversary of the date of the Agreement) (the “Outside Date”), (b) there is an Order (as defined in the Agreement) permanently enjoining or otherwise prohibiting the consummation of the Transaction or (c) the other party has breached its representations, warranties or covenants in a way that prevents satisfaction of a closing condition, subject to a cure period. If the Agreement is terminated for failure to close the Transaction prior to the Outside Date for reasons specified in the Agreement relating to the failure to obtain antitrust approvals, Hubbell will be required to pay to Seller or its designee a termination fee equal to $150 million.
Either party can terminate if the deal doesn't close within eight months (extendable to one year under certain circumstances), if a court order blocks the transaction, or if the other party materially breaches. Notably, Hubbell must pay a $150 million termination fee if the deal fails to close by the outside date due to antitrust approval issues. This fee represents a material contingent liability tied to regulatory risk.
Event · Item 7.01 — Regulation FD Disclosure
Hubbell announced entry into an agreement via press release under Regulation FD disclosure.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 4, 2026, Hubbell issued a press release, attached as Exhibit 99.1 to this Current Report on Form 8-K and incorporated herein by reference, announcing entry into the Agreement described above.
Hubbell disclosed entry into an unspecified agreement through a press release on May 4, 2026. The 8-K references 'the Agreement described above' but does not provide details within the body text itself; the substance appears in Exhibit 99.1. This is a Regulation FD disclosure, meaning material information is being publicly released to comply with fair disclosure rules.
Event · Item 8.01 — Other Events
Item 8.01 — Other Events filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 1, 2026, in connection with its entry into the Agreement, Hubbell Incorporated entered into a commitment letter (the “Commitment Letter”), with JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. (“JPMCB”), Bank of America, N.A. (“BANA”), BofA Securities, Inc. (“BofAS” and, together with BANA, “BofA”), HSBC Bank USA, National Association (“HSBC Bank”) and HSBC Securities (USA) Inc. (“HSBC Securities” and, together with HSBC Bank, “HSBC”; JPMCB, BofA and HSBC together, the “Commitment Parties”), pursuant to which certain of the Commitment Parties committed to provide, subject to the terms and conditions set forth therein, up to $2,800,000,000 of senior unsecured bridge loans, the proceeds of which may be used for purposes of financing the Transaction, repaying certain existing indebtedness of NSI, and paying fees and expenses in connection with the foregoing.
Hubbell entered into a commitment letter with JPMorgan, Bank of America, and HSBC for up to $2.8 billion in senior unsecured bridge loans. The proceeds will finance an acquisition (the Transaction), repay existing debt of the target company NSI, and cover transaction fees and expenses.
Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits
Hubbell announced acquisition of NSI Electrical via stock purchase agreement dated May 1, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Stock Purchase Agreement, by and among Hubbell Incorporated (Delaware), NSI Electrical Buyer, Inc., NSI Buyer, LP and Hubbell Incorporated, dated as of May 1, 2026
Hubbell entered into a stock purchase agreement to acquire NSI Electrical. The agreement was signed May 1, 2026, with parties including Hubbell Incorporated (Delaware), NSI Electrical Buyer, Inc., and NSI Buyer, LP. The filing indicates this is a material transaction requiring 8-K disclosure, though financial terms are not disclosed in the body text.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
statements regarding the consummation of the Transaction and receipt of required regulatory approvals and the anticipated benefits to Hubbell thereof, as well as the timing for the Transaction to close and become accretive to Hubbell’s and Hubbell Electrical Solutions’ adjusted operating margins, accretive to adjusted earnings per share and long-term organic growth, opportunities for cross-selling and channel conversions, as well as projected NSI anticipated 2026 adjusted EBITDA and revenues
The forward-looking statements section reveals management expects the NSI acquisition to be accretive to adjusted operating margins and adjusted earnings per share, with opportunities for cross-selling and channel conversions. The transaction requires regulatory approvals before closing. Management has projected NSI's 2026 adjusted EBITDA and revenues, though specific figures are not disclosed in this filing.
Added in current filing · view on EDGAR → · paraphrased
our ability to successfully manage and integrate acquired businesses, such as the acquisitions of Alliance USAcqCo 2, Inc. (the Ventev business), Nicor, Inc. (the Nicor business), and Power Rose Acquisition, Inc. (the DMC Power business), as well as the failure to realize expected synergies and benefits anticipated when we make an acquisition due to potential adverse reactions or changes to business or employee relationships resulting from completion of the transaction, competitive responses to the transaction, the possibility that the anticipated benefits of the transaction are not realized when expected or at all, including as a result of the impact of, or problems arising from, the integration of an acquired business
Hubbell acknowledges integration risks for the NSI acquisition alongside its recent acquisitions of Ventev, Nicor, and DMC Power businesses. The company warns that anticipated synergies and benefits may not materialize due to integration challenges, adverse reactions from employees or business partners, or competitive responses. This is standard M&A risk disclosure but relevant given Hubbell's active acquisition strategy.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Hubbell and NSI’s ability to complete the Transaction on the proposed terms or on the anticipated timeline, or at all; failure to achieve the anticipated benefits from the Transaction; other risks related to the completion of the Transaction and actions related thereto, including transaction costs and/or unknown or inestimable liabilities; risk factors related to the integration of NSI and the future opportunities and plans for the combined company
The filing explicitly warns that the NSI transaction may not close on proposed terms, on the anticipated timeline, or at all. Hubbell identifies transaction costs, unknown liabilities, and integration risks as potential obstacles. This standard M&A risk disclosure indicates the deal is subject to customary closing conditions and regulatory approvals.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 10, 2026 · How we verify