Open report — full analysis, no account required.

Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.

Sign up free

Get notified when ESTA files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.

Get filing alerts
NASDAQ: ESTA ESTABLISHMENT LABS HOLDINGS INC. 8-K

Establishment Labs refinances debt with up to $300M credit facility at 8.75%, maturing 2031

Filed April 30, 2026 · Period ending April 30, 2026 · ~2 min read

5 key changes 2 high relevance 1 section

Key Changes

  • high

    Entered up to $300M credit facility with Oaktree-administered lenders at 8.75% annual interest, maturing April 2031. $265M drawn immediately to repay prior debt; up to $35M available subject to mutual consent.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • high

    Interest payable quarterly in cash, but company may pay 25-100% in kind (adding to principal) during first year, incurring 0.375-0.50% cash step-up penalty. Rate drops 0.25% if gross leverage falls below 4.0x.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Prepayment penalties make early refinancing costly: 1% exit fee on all prepayments, plus yield-protection premium (present value of forgone interest + 2% of principal) if prepaid within two years, or 2% premium in year three.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Must maintain $30M minimum liquidity and meet quarterly minimum gross sales targets (specific thresholds not disclosed). Equity cure right available if sales covenant breached.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →
  • medium

    Approximately $259M of initial $265M draw used to repay prior credit facility in full and cover transaction costs. Remaining proceeds for working capital and general corporate purposes.

    Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement verify on EDGAR →

Summary

Establishment Labs refinanced its existing debt with a new up to $300 million credit facility from Oaktree-administered lenders, extending maturity to April 2031 and setting an 8.75% interest rate. The company drew $265 million immediately, using approximately $259 million to retire the prior credit agreement and pay transaction costs, with a $35 million tranche available later subject to lender consent.

The structure offers near-term cash flexibility: during the first year, the company can pay up to 100% of interest in kind (adding to principal rather than paying cash), though doing so triggers a 0.375-0.50% cash step-up penalty depending on the PIK percentage elected. This payment-in-kind option preserves liquidity while the business scales, though it increases the principal balance.

The rate steps down 0.25% if gross leverage falls below 4.0x, incentivizing deleveraging. Prepayment penalties lock in the financing for several years: any early repayment incurs a 1% exit fee, and prepayments within two years carry an additional yield-protection premium equal to the present value of forgone interest plus 2% of principal. The company must also maintain $30 million minimum liquidity and meet undisclosed quarterly sales targets, with an equity cure right if sales fall short. For holders, the refinancing extends the maturity runway and provides operational breathing room, though the PIK option and covenant structure signal the company is still managing cash flow carefully as it grows revenue.

Section-by-Section Diff

Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement

~1,200 words

Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.

1 Added
Added Financial covenants medium

Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →

The Credit Agreement contains financial covenants requiring (a) the Company to maintain minimum liquidity of at least $30,000,000 and (b) minimum gross sales of the Company and its subsidiaries for each consecutive 12-month period ending on the last day of each fiscal quarter in excess of an amount set forth in the Credit Agreement for such period. The Credit Agreement provides for a customary equity cure right in the event the Company fails to comply with the minimum gross sales covenant.

The company must maintain at least $30 million in liquidity and meet quarterly minimum gross sales targets (specific thresholds not disclosed in the 8-K). An equity cure right allows the company to remedy a sales covenant breach by raising equity. These covenants impose operational discipline and potential restrictions on cash use.

Was this report useful?

Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Jun 21, 2026 · How we verify