Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when CLRO files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsRed Flags Detected
- Going Concern (new) — Cortigent's auditors expressed substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern due to limited cash, working capital deficit of $3.8M, and no revenue-generating operations.
- Material Weakness (new) — The company discloses that testing may reveal deficiencies in internal controls over financial reporting deemed to be material weaknesses.
ClearOne (CLRO) offers 2.9M-4.3M units at $3.50/unit (stock + warrant) to raise $9.1M-$13.8M net proceeds, conditioned on merger with pre-revenue neurostimulation developer Cortigent
Filed August 10, 2026 · ~2 min read
Key Changes
-
high
ClearOne sold its audio/video business for $3M in Oct 2025 and now operates as a shell pursuing a reverse merger with Cortigent, a pre-revenue neurostimulation device developer with net losses of $3.1M (2025), $2.2M (2024), and $0.8M (Q1 2026).
Business view on EDGAR → -
high
The offering is a best-efforts placement of 2.9M-4.3M units at $3.50/unit (below Nasdaq minimum, requiring stockholder approval). Each unit includes one share and one warrant exercisable at $10.00 for six months. Net proceeds: $9.1M (minimum) to $13.8M (maximum).
The Offering verify on EDGAR → -
high
Proceeds will repay a $1.1M loan to First Finance Ltd. (which is investing $1M in the offering), fund $7M in Orion/Stroke Recovery System R&D and device manufacturing, and provide working capital. The merger cannot close without this financing.
Use of Proceeds verify on EDGAR → -
high
Cortigent's auditors expressed substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern. The company has a $3.8M working capital deficit, $11.6M accumulated deficit, and requires substantial additional capital beyond this offering to fund clinical trials through projected 2030-2031 product launches.
-
high
New investors pay $3.50/unit but receive $0.42-$0.64 net tangible book value per share (dilution of $2.86-$3.08 per share). At the minimum offering, existing stockholders own 48% post-offering; at maximum, 39%.
Dilution verify on EDGAR → -
high
Neuralink received FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for its Blindsight vision restoration program (direct competition to Cortigent's Orion) and has enrolled 26 participants globally with thousands of device-use days and no serious adverse events reported as of June 2026.
Prospectus Summary verify on EDGAR → -
medium
Approximately 100 of Cortigent's 146 issued U.S. patents expire by end of 2029, before the projected 2030-2031 commercial launches. Three of six Orion early feasibility study subjects requested device explantation after year three.
Prospectus Summary verify on EDGAR →
Summary
ClearOne, which sold its audio/video conferencing business for $3 million in October 2025, is offering 2.9 million to 4.3 million units at $3.50 per unit in a best-efforts placement to raise $9.1 million to $13.8 million in net proceeds. Each unit consists of one share of common stock and one warrant exercisable at $10.00 for six months.
The offering is priced below Nasdaq's minimum bid price and will issue more than 20% of outstanding shares, requiring stockholder approval under Nasdaq rules. The company will use proceeds to repay a $1.1 million loan to First Finance Ltd.
(which is investing $1 million in the offering), fund $7 million in product development for Cortigent's Orion and Stroke Recovery System neurostimulation devices, and provide working capital. The offering is a condition to closing ClearOne's reverse merger with Cortigent, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Vivani Medical. Cortigent is a pre-revenue medical device developer with GAAP net losses of $3.1 million (2025), $2.2 million (2024), and $0.8 million (Q1 2026). Its auditors have expressed substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern. The company has a $3.8 million working capital deficit and an $11.6 million accumulated deficit. Cortigent plans to commence its pivotal Orion clinical trial in late 2027, complete it in late 2029, and if successful, launch commercially in 2030. The Stroke Recovery System pivotal trial is planned for early 2029 with potential 2031 launch. These timelines assume adequate financing and FDA approvals, with no assurance of success. Neuralink, a direct competitor, has received FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for its Blindsight vision restoration program and has enrolled 26 participants globally with thousands of device-use days and no serious adverse events reported. New investors in this offering will experience immediate dilution of $2.86 to $3.08 per share, paying $3.50 but receiving $0.42 to $0.64 in net tangible book value per share.
Section-by-Section Diff
The Offering · The Offering
Offering 2.9M-4.3M units at $3.50/unit (stock + $10 warrant expiring in 6 months), priced below Nasdaq minimum requiring stockholder approval.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
A minimum of 2,857,142 Units up to a maximum of 4,285,714 Units at a public offering price of $3.50 per Unit. Each Unit consists of one share of Common Stock and one Warrant to purchase one share of Common Stock.
The company is offering between 2.9 million and 4.3 million units at $3.50 per unit. Each unit includes one share of common stock and one warrant to buy another share at $10.00. This is a best-efforts offering through a placement agent, not a firm-commitment underwriting.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Each Warrant is initially exercisable at a price of $10.00. The Warrants will expire six months after the date of issuance.
The warrants have a $10.00 exercise price (nearly 3x the $3.50 unit price) and expire in just six months. This short expiration window and high strike price mean warrants are unlikely to be exercised unless the stock price rises substantially and quickly.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On [●], 2026, our board of directors and a majority of our stockholders approved the potential issuance of the Units for purposes of compliance with applicable stockholder approval requirements, including those applicable under Nasdaq Listing Rule 5635(d), as the offering price is below the Nasdaq Minimum Price and the issuance resulted in the issuance of 20% or more of our outstanding Common Stock.
The $3.50 offering price is below Nasdaq's minimum bid price, and the offering will issue more than 20% of outstanding shares, triggering Nasdaq Rule 5635(d) stockholder approval requirements. The board and majority stockholders have approved the issuance.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Common Stock to be Outstanding, if Minimum Offering is Sold
5,532,554 shares of Common Stock. (1)
Common Stock to be Outstanding, if Maximum Offering is Sold
6,961,126 shares of Common Stock.(1)
If the minimum offering sells, 5.5 million shares will be outstanding; if the maximum sells, 6.96 million shares. These figures exclude any shares from warrant exercises. The minimum offering represents approximately 52% dilution from the current base, and the maximum represents approximately 160% dilution.
Prospectus Summary · Prospectus Summary
ClearOne, a shell company post-asset sale, is merging with Cortigent, a pre-revenue neurostimulation device developer with no income and recurring losses.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On July 1, 2026, we entered into an Agreement and Plan of Merger (the “Merger Agreement”) by and among ClearOne, CLRO Merger Sub, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of ClearOne (“Merger Sub”), Vivani Medical, Inc. (“Vivani”), and Cortigent, a wholly owned subsidiary of Vivani, pursuant to which, subject to the satisfaction or waiver of certain conditions, including the Financing (as defined herein), Merger Sub will merge with and into Cortigent, with Cortigent surviving as a wholly-owned subsidiary of ClearOne (the “Merger” or the “Transaction”).
ClearOne, which sold substantially all operating assets in October 2025 and no longer manufactures or sells products, has agreed to merge with Cortigent, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Vivani Medical. The merger is subject to customary closing conditions including financing, with no assurance it will be completed. Cortigent is a pre-revenue neurostimulation device developer focused on artificial vision and stroke recovery systems.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR → · paraphrased
For the three months ended March 31, 2026 and the fiscal years ended December 31, 2025 and 2024, Cortigent generated no revenue from operations and incurred a net loss of $0.8 million, $3.1 million and $2.2 million, respectively. Cortigent's consolidated financial statements have been prepared on a going concern basis, and Cortigent's financial condition creates doubt as to whether it will be able to continue as a going concern.
Cortigent has generated zero revenue and incurred net losses of $0.8 million (Q1 2026), $3.1 million (2025), and $2.2 million (2024). Its auditors have expressed substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern. Cortigent requires substantial additional capital to continue product development and fund clinical trials, with no assurance of achieving or maintaining profitability.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR → · paraphrased
Cortigent intends to commence the potentially pivotal clinical trial in late 2027, and expects to complete the pivotal trial in late 2029. Should Cortigent meet its primary endpoint(s) and subsequently obtain FDA clearance, it expects to launch Orion in the U.S. in 2030. Cortigent plans to conduct a Stroke Early Feasibility Study (the "Stroke EFS") in parallel with manufacturing of the Orion devices in late 2027. Depending upon the outcomes of the Stroke EFS, Cortigent plans to commence a pivotal clinical trial for the Stroke Recovery System in early 2029. Upon further review and collaboration with the FDA, Cortigent will determine patient population size and other parameters of the Stroke Recovery System pivotal trial. Cortigent expects to complete the pivotal trial by late 2030, and if successful, commercially launch the Stroke Recovery System in 2031.
Cortigent's development timeline projects Orion pivotal trial completion in late 2029 with potential U.S. launch in 2030, and Stroke Recovery System pivotal trial completion by late 2030 with potential launch in 2031. These timelines assume adequate financing and FDA approvals, with no assurance that clinical trials will demonstrate safety and efficacy or lead to commercial products. The company explicitly states that no assurance can be given that it will obtain FDA approvals, clearances, or launch commercially successful products.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Neuralink has also announced development of a vision restoration program referred to as Blindsight™, for which it has received FDA Breakthrough Device Designation that is described as involving cortical stimulation for vision restoration. Based on publicly available information as of February 2026, Neuralink has not disclosed FDA Investigational Device Exemption (“IDE”) authorization for first-in-human cortical stimulation studies for a vision restoration implant or any other indication.
Neuralink has received FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for its Blindsight vision restoration program involving cortical stimulation, directly competing with Cortigent's Orion system. While Neuralink has not disclosed IDE authorization for vision restoration studies as of February 2026, it has enrolled approximately 26 participants globally in its clinical trials as of June 30, 2026, and reported thousands of cumulative device-use days with no serious device-related adverse events to date.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent’s patent estate covers the foundational technologies invented during the development of the Argus and Orion devices with approximately 100 of Cortigent’s issued U.S. patents reaching the end of their term by the end of 2029. The remaining patent estate in the U.S. extends into 2038 and covers the core technologies of neurostimulation techniques for implantable devices and achieving implant longevity, which are integral to Cortigent’s current and future product lines, including the planned Stroke Recovery System.
Approximately 100 of Cortigent's 146 issued U.S. patents will expire by the end of 2029, before the projected 2030-2031 commercial launches of Orion and the Stroke Recovery System. The remaining patents extend to 2038 and cover core neurostimulation and implant longevity technologies integral to current and future product lines.
Use of Proceeds · Use of Proceeds
Net proceeds of $9.05M (minimum) to $13.75M (maximum) will fund Orion/Stroke Recovery System R&D, repay $1.1M loan, and provide working capital.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The gross proceeds from this offering will be $10,000,000 if we sell the minimum number of Units and $15,000,000 if we sell the maximum number of Units that we are offering. After deducting Placement Agent fees and estimated offering expenses payable by us, we expect to receive net proceeds of $9,050,000 from this offering if we sell the minimum number of Units offered and $13,750,000 if we sell the maximum number of Units offered.
This is a best-efforts offering with a minimum gross of $10 million and maximum of $15 million. After fees and expenses, the company expects net proceeds of $9.05 million (minimum) or $13.75 million (maximum). Because it is best-efforts, actual proceeds may be substantially less than the maximum.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
As a first priority, we plan to use $1.1 million to repay the loan from First Finance Ltd. On June 30, 2026, we entered into a Loan Agreement with First Finance Ltd., pursuant to which First Finance Ltd. agreed to lend us a principal amount of up to $1,000,000 in the aggregate (the “Loan”). The Loan is structured in tranches, with an initial tranche of $500,000 and additional tranches of $250,000 each, in each case on dates mutually agreed by the parties. As at the date of this prospectus, the interest rate on the Loan is 11% per annum, calculated daily on the basis of a 360-day year, accruing from the applicable advance date until repayment of the Loan in full. Overdue interest is compounded and added to the principal amount of the Loan. The maturity date of the Loan is the earlier of (i) six months following June 30, 2026, being December 30, 2026, or (ii) such other date as the parties may mutually agree in writing. We expect that First Finance Ltd. will be investing $1.0 million in this offering to purchase 285,714 shares of our Common Stock.
The company's first priority is repaying $1.1 million to First Finance Ltd., which provided a loan of up to $1 million at 11% annual interest maturing December 30, 2026. First Finance Ltd. is expected to invest $1 million in this offering, effectively recycling proceeds back to the company while converting debt to equity.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Research and development studies for Orion and the Stroke Recovery System
$2
$2 ... Planned Orion pivotal clinical trial and conversion of the Orion prototype to a market-ready device
$1
$1
Manufacture and assembly of new devices for use in Orion and Stroke Recovery Systems studies and clinical trials
$4
$4
The company will allocate $7 million (same for minimum and maximum offerings) to product development: $2 million for R&D studies, $1 million for pivotal trial preparation and prototype conversion, and $4 million for device manufacturing. These proceeds will be used over approximately 18 months following the offering.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Units offered in this offering consist of one share of Common Stock and one Warrant. To the extent that the Warrants are exercised for cash and generate aggregate gross proceeds to the Company of $30.0 million or more, we currently intend to use such proceeds, together with our existing cash resources, to fund the costs of the Orion pivotal clinical trial and the initial Stroke Recovery System clinical study.
Each unit includes one share and one warrant. If warrant exercises generate $30 million or more in gross proceeds, the company intends to use those funds for the Orion pivotal clinical trial and initial Stroke Recovery System study. This represents potential future funding beyond the base offering.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
In October 2023, Cortigent reapplied for grant funding of up to $8.0 million from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) after receiving reviewers’ comments on Cortigent’s original application. Based on further communications with grant reviewers Cortigent believes that it is unlikely to receive any grant in the current funding cycle. Cortigent is planning to submit a new application in 2027 for a grant that could be awarded in the next funding cycle. No assurance can be given that any such application will result in an awarded grant.
The company reapplied for up to $8 million in NIH grant funding in October 2023 but believes it is unlikely to receive a grant in the current cycle. A new application is planned for 2027, but there is no assurance of success. If awarded, the grant would potentially cover the principal cost of the initial Stroke Recovery System study.
Dilution · Dilution
New investors pay $3.50/Unit but receive $0.42-$0.64 net tangible book value per share, dilution of $2.86-$3.08 per share.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Our historical net tangible book value as of March 31, 2026, was approximately $532,000, or $0.20 per share.
The company's net tangible book value (total tangible assets minus total liabilities) was approximately $532,000, or $0.20 per share, as of March 31, 2026. This is the baseline before the offering and merger adjustments.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
our issuance and sale of 2,857,142 Units in this offering (assuming we sell the minimum number of Units offered by this prospectus) at a public offering price of $3.50 per Unit, after deducting Placement Agent fees and estimated offering expenses payable by us, our pro forma as adjusted net tangible book value as of March 31, 2026 would have been approximately $0.42 per share. This represents an immediate increase in actual net tangible book value per share of $0.22 to our existing stockholders and an immediate dilution in actual net tangible book value per share of approximately $3.08 to new investors purchasing Units in this offering.
At the minimum offering of 2,857,142 Units at $3.50 per Unit, new investors experience immediate dilution of approximately $3.08 per share (paying $3.50 but receiving $0.42 net tangible book value per share). Existing stockholders gain $0.22 per share in net tangible book value.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
our issuance and sale of 4,285,714 Units in this offering (assuming we sell the maximum number of Units offered by this prospectus) at a public offering price of $3.50 per Unit, after deducting Placement Agent fees and estimated offering expenses payable by us, our pro forma as adjusted net tangible book value as of March 31, 2026 would have been approximately $0.64 per share. This represents an immediate increase in actual net tangible book value per share of $0.44 to our existing stockholders and an immediate dilution in actual net tangible book value per share of approximately $2.86 to new investors purchasing Units in this offering.
At the maximum offering of 4,285,714 Units at $3.50 per Unit, new investors experience immediate dilution of approximately $2.86 per share (paying $3.50 but receiving $0.64 net tangible book value per share). Existing stockholders gain $0.44 per share in net tangible book value.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
the issuance of 855,000 shares of Common Stock to be issued pursuant to agreements with the Company in connection with past advisory services provided to the Company and to be provided on an ongoing basis
The company will issue 855,000 shares of Common Stock for past and ongoing advisory services, which contributes to dilution alongside the Merger and the public offering. This issuance occurs before calculating the pro forma net tangible book value.
Risk Factors · Risk Factors
Company faces going-concern doubt, requires additional financing, has limited revenue-generating activities post-asset sale, and is pursuing a merger.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
As of December 31, 2025, we had approximately $0.7 million of cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash. Following the October 2025 disposition of certain operating assets and the resulting reduction in revenue-generating activities, our continuing activities primarily consist, among other things, of maintaining public company compliance and fulfilling ongoing obligations, including warranty servicing and technical support related to products sold prior to the Asset Sale (as defined herein), managing remaining assets and liabilities, and evaluating and pursuing strategic alternatives. These activities are not expected to generate revenue at levels sufficient to fund ongoing operating costs.
Company has only $0.7 million cash as of December 31, 2025, and sold its operating assets in October 2025. Its remaining activities (compliance, warranty support, evaluating strategic alternatives) do not generate sufficient revenue to cover operating costs. The company requires additional financing or a strategic transaction to continue operations.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
completion of the Financing, or the Financing being consummated substantially concurrently with the closing of the Merger
The merger with Cortigent is conditioned on completing this offering (the Financing) or having it close concurrently with the merger. If the offering fails or raises insufficient capital, the merger cannot close, leaving the company without a path forward.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On June 18, 2025, we received a letter from Nasdaq advising that we had not regained compliance with the Minimum Bid Price Requirement as of June 16, 2025 and that the trading in our Common Stock on Nasdaq would be suspended as of the opening of trading on June 25, 2025 and we would be delisted from Nasdaq. On June 24, 2025, we received a letter from Nasdaq advising that our Common Stock had traded above $1.00 per share for the ten consecutive trading days ending June 24, 2025 and had regained compliance with the Minimum Bid Price Requirement and the Company would not be delisted.
Company was notified of imminent delisting in June 2025 for failing to maintain a $1.00 minimum bid price, but regained compliance at the last moment. It also failed to hold its 2024 annual meeting on time (regained compliance in June 2025) and as of April 2026 is not in compliance with Nasdaq's continued listing standards, having submitted a compliance plan in May 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent currently has no commercial products or product revenue, will be required to expend significant resources for the foreseeable future, and may never become profitable.
To date, neither Cortigent nor Second Sight have generated net income from sales of the now discontinued Argus II product. Cortigent will not generate revenues unless and until it completes the development and attains the marketing approval for Orion or other neurostimulation systems being developed.
The merger target, Cortigent, has no commercial products, no revenue, and no history of profitability. Its predecessor's Argus II product was discontinued. Cortigent's Orion neurostimulation system and stroke recovery products are in development and require FDA approval before any revenue can be generated. The combined company will inherit these development-stage risks.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Based on publicly available statements, Neuralink has reported that as of June 30, 2026 it had approximately 26 participants enrolled globally in its clinical trials. Neuralink has publicly released demonstrations showing certain implanted participants using the system to control a computer interface, including cursor control and typing in home settings, and has stated that participants have accumulated thousands of cumulative device-use days. Neuralink has publicly stated that it has not observed serious device-related adverse events to date.
Neuralink, a direct competitor developing brain-computer interfaces, has enrolled 26 participants globally as of June 30, 2026, demonstrated functional cursor control and typing in home settings, and accumulated thousands of device-use days without serious adverse events. Neuralink has also received FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for a vision restoration program called Blindsight™, though the filing notes Neuralink has not disclosed FDA IDE authorization for first-in-human cortical stimulation studies for vision restoration as of June 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
For example, three of the six subjects implanted in the Orion EFS were explanted at the subjects’ request during the study. They were explanted after the third year of the study; however, one subject did not complete all components of the year three assessment. This resulted in Cortigent’s having three-year safety data for all six subjects, but three-year efficacy data for five of the six subjects.
Three of six Orion early feasibility study subjects requested device explantation after year three, limiting long-term efficacy data collection. While Cortigent's Independent Medical Safety Monitor determined the explants were unrelated to device safety or efficacy, this 50% explant rate represents a significant limitation in the study's ability to generate long-term data needed for regulatory approval.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent’s predecessor company, Second Sight, incurred significant operating losses each year since its inception and Cortigent will continue to incur additional losses for the next several years.
The company has no revenue-producing operations and expects to continue incurring losses for several years. Predecessor Second Sight incurred operating losses every year since inception, and the filing states losses may be greater than expected with uncertain operating results.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent intends to make significant investments to support its clinical trials and business growth and will require substantial additional funds to respond to business challenges, including the need to develop new product offerings and features or enhance its existing platform, improve operating infrastructure, or acquire complementary businesses, personnel, and technologies.
The company requires substantial additional capital to fund clinical trials and growth, with no assurance such capital will be available on acceptable terms. If additional funds are raised through equity or debt, existing stockholders may experience dilution or securities with senior rights may be issued.
MD&A · Management's Discussion and Analysis
Pre-revenue medical device company developing cortical neurostimulation products; net loss $3.1M (2025), $2.2M (2024); working capital deficit $(3.8)M.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The net loss was $3.1 million in 2025, as compared to $2.2 million in 2024.
The company reported a GAAP net loss of $3.1 million for the year ended December 31, 2025, compared to a net loss of $2.2 million in 2024. The $0.9 million increase was primarily due to increased outside services costs, decreased grant offsets, and a write-off of accumulated translation adjustment related to the closure of a foreign subsidiary.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
For the three months ended March 31, 2026 and the fiscal years ended December 31, 2025 and 2024, Cortigent generated no revenue from operations and incurred a net loss of $0.8 million, $3.1 million and $2.2 million, respectively.
For the three months ended March 31, 2026, the company incurred a net loss of $0.8 million with zero revenue. This is a pre-revenue company with recurring operating losses expected to continue for the foreseeable future.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Working capital (deficit) was $(3.8) million as of March 31, 2026 and as of December 31, 2025.
The company has a working capital deficit of $(3.8) million as of both March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025, indicating current liabilities exceed current assets by $3.8 million.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent had an accumulated deficit of $11.6 million as of March 31, 2026, and $10.8 million as of December 31, 2025
The company's accumulated deficit increased from $10.8 million at December 31, 2025 to $11.6 million at March 31, 2026, reflecting the ongoing net losses since inception.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Cortigent intends to commence the potentially pivotal clinical trial in late 2027, and expects to complete the pivotal trial late 2029. Should Cortigent meet its primary endpoint(s) and subsequently obtains FDA clearance, Cortigent expects to launch Orion in the U.S. in 2030.
The company plans to start its pivotal Orion clinical trial (approximately 60 patients at approximately 10 U.S. centers) in late 2027, complete it in late 2029, and if successful, launch commercially in 2030. For the Stroke Recovery System, it plans an early feasibility study in late 2027, pivotal trial starting early 2029, completing late 2030, and if successful, commercial launch in 2031. These timelines assume adequate financing and FDA approvals.
Business · Business
ClearOne sold its audio/video business for $3M in Oct 2025, now operates as a shell pursuing a reverse merger with neurotechnology company Cortigent.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On October 24, 2025, the Company completed the sale of certain intellectual property, product inventory, and non-exclusive rights to customer data to Biamp for gross cash consideration of $3.0 million (the “Asset Sale”) pursuant to an Asset Purchase Agreement dated the same date.
ClearOne sold substantially all its operating assets (IP, inventory, customer data) to Biamp for $3.0 million in October 2025. Following this sale, the company no longer manufactures or sells products and maintains only limited warranty-service operations. The company is now a shell entity evaluating strategic alternatives.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On July 1, 2026, the Company, Merger Sub, Cortigent and Vivani entered into the Merger Agreement. Pursuant to the Merger Agreement, and subject to the terms and conditions set forth therein, Merger Sub will merge with and into Cortigent, with Cortigent continuing as the surviving corporation and becoming a wholly-owned subsidiary of ClearOne.
ClearOne entered into a merger agreement to acquire Cortigent, a neurotechnology company developing implantable brain-computer interface technologies. Vivani (Cortigent's sole stockholder) will receive 12,500,000 shares of ClearOne common stock. This represents a complete business pivot from audio/video conferencing to medical neurotechnology.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
In connection with the Transaction, we agreed to undertake a financing transaction through the registration statement of which this prospectus forms a part, pursuant to which we intend to raise gross proceeds of not less than $10.0 million and not more than $15.0 million through the issuance of Units (the “Financing”). Completion of the Financing is a condition to the closing of the Merger.
Closing the Cortigent merger is conditioned on ClearOne raising between $10.0 million and $15.0 million in gross proceeds through this offering. If the financing fails, the merger cannot close. The merger agreement may be terminated if the transaction has not closed by December 28, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On October 30, 2025, Edward D. Bagley sold 700,000 shares of Common Stock to First Finance Ltd. pursuant to a Securities Purchase Agreement dated as of October 30, 2025 by and between First Finance Ltd. and Edward D. Bagley at a purchase price of $3.00 per share of Common Stock.
First Finance Ltd. has become a significant stockholder through multiple transactions: purchasing 700,000 shares from insider Edward Bagley at $3.00/share in October 2025, converting preferred stock into 503,662 common shares in November 2025, purchasing 437,500 shares at $4.00/share in March 2026, and providing a $1.0 million loan in June 2026. First Finance is expected to invest an additional $1.0 million in this offering.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
In connection with the Transaction, we will issue 855,000 shares of our Common Stock to certain of our advisors pursuant to agreements with the Company in connection with past advisory services provided to the Company and to be provided on an ongoing basis (the “Advisor Stock Issuance”), and, at closing, intend to grant up to 1,400,000 stock options to certain individuals affiliated with Cortigent.
In addition to the 12,500,000 shares issued to Vivani for Cortigent, ClearOne will issue 855,000 shares to advisors and grant up to 1,400,000 stock options to Cortigent-affiliated individuals at closing. The post-merger board will consist of five directors including Adam Mendelsohn as Chairman and Jonathan Adams as CEO, representing a complete management change.
Selling Stockholders · Selling Stockholders
Four selling stockholders may sell up to 2,496,162 shares acquired in private placements; First Finance Ltd. holds 1,641,162 shares pre-offering.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Selling Stockholders identified in this prospectus may offer and sell up to 2,496,162 shares of our Common Stock.
Four selling stockholders may sell up to 2,496,162 shares total. First Finance Ltd. may sell 1,666,162 shares (including 503,662 from Series B Preferred conversion, 700,000 from a 2025 purchase at $3.00/share, 437,500 from a 2026 purchase at $4.00/share, and 25,000 for advisory services). The remaining three stockholders (Betelgeuse Capital Advisors, Gang3 Capital, and JJK Holdings) will sell 90,000, 140,000, and 600,000 shares respectively, all issued for advisory services.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Consists of (i) 503,662 shares of Common Stock issued on November 26, 2025 in relation to the conversion of 3,026 Series B Preferred Stock pursuant to a Notice of Conversion dated November 24, 2025 (the “Series B Preferred Stock Conversion”), (ii) 700,000 shares of Common Stock issued on November 21, 2025 in connection with a Securities Purchase Agreement dated as of October 30, 2025 by and between First Finance Ltd. and Edward D. Bagley at a purchase price of $3.00 per share of Common Stock (the “2025 SPA”), and (iii) 437,500 shares of Common Stock and warrants to purchase up to 437,500 shares of Common Stock issued on March 18, 2026 in connection with a Securities Purchase Agreement dated as of March 2, 2026 by and between First Finance Ltd. and the Company at a purchase price of $4.00 per share of Common Stock (the “2026 SPA”).
First Finance Ltd. acquired its 1,641,162 shares through three transactions: converting 3,026 Series B Preferred shares into 503,662 common shares in November 2025; purchasing 700,000 shares from Edward D. Bagley at $3.00/share in November 2025; and purchasing 437,500 shares from the company at $4.00/share in March 2026 (warrants from this purchase were later cancelled on August 4, 2026). First Finance is also expected to invest $1.0 million in the primary offering to purchase 285,714 additional shares.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Eric Boehnke has been a director of the Company since June 20, 2025.
Eric Boehnke, who controls Gang3 Capital Ltd. (selling 140,000 shares), has been a company director since June 20, 2025. This is the only disclosed material relationship between selling stockholders and the company over the past three years.
Experts · Experts
ClearOne's financials audited by Tanner LLP; Cortigent's financials audited by BPM LLP with going-concern doubt.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
which contains an explanatory paragraph relating to the substantial doubt about the ability of Cortigent to continue as a going concern as described in Note 1 to the consolidated financial statements
BPM LLP's audit report on Cortigent's consolidated financial statements includes an explanatory paragraph expressing substantial doubt about Cortigent's ability to continue as a going concern. This qualification is referenced in Note 1 to Cortigent's financial statements and indicates material uncertainty about the entity's viability.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The audited consolidated financial statements of the Company and its subsidiaries, as of and for the years ended December 31, 2025, and 2024, incorporated by reference into this prospectus have been so incorporated by reference in reliance upon the report of Tanner LLP, independent registered public accountants
ClearOne's own consolidated financial statements are audited by Tanner LLP, while Cortigent's financials (included in this prospectus) are audited by a separate firm, BPM LLP. This dual-auditor structure reflects that Cortigent's financials are presented separately rather than consolidated into ClearOne's statements.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · Aug 17, 2026 · How we verify