Open report — full analysis, no account required.
Sign up to generate reports and read filings that aren't on the open list.
Get notified when BW files again. Create a free account and we'll email you the moment its next filing is analyzed.
Get filing alertsBabcock & Wilcox raises capital with 12.4M share offering, underwriters exercise full option
Filed May 18, 2026 · Period ending May 14, 2026 · ~1 min read
Key Changes
-
high
Company completed sale of 12.4 million common shares on May 18, 2026, representing significant equity dilution to existing shareholders. Offering included base amount of 10.8 million shares plus full 1.6 million share greenshoe.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR → -
high
Underwriters fully exercised their over-allotment option, purchasing all 1.6 million additional shares available. Full greenshoe exercise typically signals strong investor demand for the offering.
Item 1.01 verify on EDGAR → -
medium
B. Riley Securities served as lead underwriter for the transaction. Offering was priced on May 15 and closed three days later on May 18, 2026.
Item 8.01 view on EDGAR →
Summary
Babcock & Wilcox completed a substantial equity raise, selling 12.4 million common shares through an underwritten public offering led by B. Riley Securities. The transaction closed on May 18, 2026, just three days after pricing, with underwriters exercising their full over-allotment option to purchase an additional 1.6 million shares beyond the base 10.8 million.
For existing shareholders, this represents meaningful dilution—the 12.4 million new shares will reduce ownership percentages across the board. However, the full exercise of the greenshoe option suggests institutional investors saw value at the offering price. The filing does not disclose the price per share or intended use of proceeds, which are critical details typically found in the accompanying press release.
Investors should watch for: (1) disclosure of offering price and total proceeds raised, (2) management's stated use of funds, and (3) any impact on the company's capital structure or debt levels. The speed of the transaction and full option exercise may indicate either urgent capital needs or opportunistic timing by management.
Section-by-Section Diff
Event · Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement
Item 1.01 — Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement filed; see Key Changes for terms.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
The Offering was consummated on May 18, 2026. At the closing, the Company issued 12,432,432 shares of Common Stock, inclusive of 1,621,621 shares of Common Stock issued pursuant to the full exercise of the Underwriters’ option to purchase Common Stock.
The offering closed on May 18, 2026, with the company issuing a total of 12,432,432 shares including the full exercise of the underwriters' option. This represents approximately 15% more shares than the base offering due to the greenshoe exercise, indicating strong demand.
Event · Item 7.01 — Regulation FD Disclosure
Company announced pricing of a common stock offering on May 15, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
On May 15, 2026, the Company issued a press release announcing the pricing of the offering of Common Stock.
The company disclosed that it priced an offering of common stock on May 15, 2026. This represents a capital-raising event through equity issuance. The specific pricing terms, number of shares, and use of proceeds are referenced in the attached press release (Exhibit 99.1), which is not included in this 8-K body.
Event · Item 9.01 — Financial Statements and Exhibits
Babcock & Wilcox completed an underwritten securities offering on May 14, 2026.
Added in current filing · verify on EDGAR →
Underwriting Agreement, dated May 14, 2026
The company entered into an underwriting agreement on May 14, 2026, indicating completion of a securities offering. The filing includes a pricing press release dated May 15, 2026, and a legal opinion from O'Melveny & Myers LLP, which are standard documents for equity or debt offerings. The specific terms, size, and nature of the offering are not disclosed in this 8-K filing itself.
Thanks — your feedback helps us improve report quality.
Figures/quotes linked to EDGAR · Narrative written by AI · May 28, 2026 · How we verify